Dermablend Cover Creme Full Coverage Cream Foundation

In my never-ending search to find the perfect spot concealer (I already have a holy grail under eye concealer), I finally got around to trying Dermablend’s Cover Creme. I’m pretty sure almost everyone’s already familiar with the product if not their brand name. I’m just really late to the game.

Dermablend’s Cover Creme retails for $38 (28 g/1 oz). I purchased mine from dermstore.com.

I first learned about the Dermablend brand a few years back through their tattoo cover video on YouTube. Ever since then their name has been synonymous with professional full coverage makeup in my mind…and yet I never gave the brand a try until very recently. I suppose it’s because I’ve never been into really full, heavy duty coverage, so the entire Dermablend range of products were never a blip on my radar. I’m much more of a medium coverage, natural finish kind of gal and, although the Dermablend products look good in photos and studio settings, I thought they’d look really obvious and cakey up-close in real life.

If you’ve been following my blog you know that this year I’ve been really going hard with concealers, buying lots of drugstore, high end and mid-range concealers hoping to find “the one”. What pushed me into finally trying Dermablend Cover Creme was michele1218’s product review and demo. People gave her flak in the comments section for her application in the video but I thought she did a good job of showing the amount of coverage that could be achieved with just a few dabs. I thought to myself that used more sparingly the Cover Creme would make a fantastic spot concealer. FYI the product’s actually marketed as a foundation but I don’t see why you can’t use it as a concealer.

Dermablend Cover Creme Full Coverage Creme Foundation – Warm Ivory

The Dermablend Cover Creme is available in 21 shades. I chose Warm Ivory, the second lightest shade which is yellow-based. The product comes packaged in a clear, plastic jar with a screw top lid and a spatula to keep things hygienic.  I ordered the Cover Creme at the tail end of summer so when it arrived the cream had a bit of condensation on the top but it performs perfectly fine.

The Cover Creme has a solid, creamy texture very reminiscent of cream foundation sticks and is completely unscented.  The consistency is smooth and creamy with a good amount of slip but not greasy, so it’s very easy to work with and blend into the skin. It’s firm but doesn’t feel dry or stiff to the touch.

The coverage, in my opinion, is shy of full. I would categorize the Cover Creme as more of a medium to full coverage product. I’ve heard that the Cover Creme underwent a repackaging (it used to come in an opaque white jar) and reformulation a couple of years ago and it’s supposedly not as full coverage as it used to be and it’s also less matte. I can’t comment on that but I’d describe the finish of the current Cover Creme as more of a semi matte. It’s pretty matte in my opinion but not a flat, powdery type of matte which I think makes it ideal for spot concealing.

Dermablend Quick-Fix Body (Nude), Dermablend Cover Creme (Warm Ivory), Dermablend Cover Creme (Almond Beige)

Warm Ivory turned out to be a pretty decent match for my NC15-20 self (note: my hand is currently a bit darker than my face) but I kept wondering if there was a better match in Dermablend’s lineup for me. As a result, I ended up buying the Quick-Fix Body stick in Nude as well as the next warm shade up in the Cover Creme which I believe is Almond Beige. I mainly bought the Quick-Fix stick to cover some leg veins but I thought I’d also be able to use it as a spot concealer for the face.

Dermablend Quick-Fix Body (Nude), Dermablend Cover Creme (Warm Ivory), Dermablend Cover Creme (Almond Beige)

As you can see, I have quite a lot of yellow in my skin and unfortunately the Quick-Fix stick in Nude’s too pink for me. It’s also a bit more matte and mattifying compared to the Cover Creme in my experience.

As for the Cover Creme in Almond Beige, I can make it work on my hand but it’s much too dark for my face. This particular shade would probably suit someone around NC25-30 in coloring better.

Physicians Formula Organic Wear BB Cream (Light), Physicians Formula CC Cream (Light), Dermablend Cover Creme (Warm Ivory), IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer (Neutral Medium)

Physicians Formula Organic Wear BB Cream (Light), Physicians Formula CC Cream (Light), Dermablend Cover Creme (Warm Ivory), IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer (Neutral Medium)

Here’s how Dermablend Warm Ivory looks next to the Physicians Formula BB/CC Creams and IT Cosmetics concealer. It’s definitely yellower than the rest with a flatter finish.

If you’re wondering, I did give the Cover Creme a try as a foundation and while it looked great immediately after application, it was too drying and accentuated dry patches in the long run. Not surprising since talc and kaolin (both major oil absorbing and mattifying ingredients) are pretty high up on the Cover Creme’s list of ingredients. However, the Cover Creme’s usable as a concealer for me as long as I buffer it by layering it over a more emollient foundation and plenty of moisturizing skin care.

All in all, I enjoy the high coverage and consistency of the Cover Creme but I’d definitely prefer a more moisturizing, less drying formula. I loved it during the hot, humid summer when my skin didn’t require as much moisture but now that the weather’s gotten dryer, colder and the temperature’s dropped into the 50s, it’s simply no match for my ultra dry skin. I think people with normal/combo/oily skin types who are looking for a high coverage foundation/concealer would appreciate this product a lot more than someone with extremely dry skin like me.

ETA: After owning the Dermablend Cover Creme for awhile I have to say that I hate the plastic jar. As you know, I own two jars of it but no matter how tightly I make sure to screw on the lid after each use or whether I store the jars right side up or upside down (some say storing it this way helps keep jarred products like gel liners and cream eye shadows moist for longer) in my makeup drawer, the Cover Cremes dried out. They went from creamy, smooth and slick to the touch to hard, stiff and dry really quickly. You get a ton of product for the price tag but is it really worth it if the product becomes a hassle to use in such a short amount of time?