Ikea Cream Cake with Marzipan – Bakelse Prinsess

Ikea Cream Cake with Marzipan – Bakelse Prinsess

It’s been awhile since I’ve blogged about food but besides makeup it’s one of the things I’m really passionate about. I wouldn’t go so far as to say I’m a foodie but I like to eat and try new foods and I like when other people (e.g. beauty vloggers and bloggers) share what they’re eating or snacking on at the moment. It’s a good change of pace from the usual beauty talk and it oftentimes exposes me to new foods that I wouldn’t have known about otherwise.

I live relatively close to an Ikea store and although I’ve never dined in their cafeteria/restaurant (usually too much of a madhouse to even consider) I’ve browsed through their little market a few times. There’s this soft farmer’s cheese they sell that I sampled once that’s really tasty and I’ve thought about buying but it’s over $20 for a 2-lb block and I don’t know if I’d be able to finish it before it started to dry out or get moldy. I’ve also tried their chocolate bars which are way too sweet for my liking and which I wouldn’t recommend. Then there’s this cute little pink cake that I’ve wondered about for the longest time and which I finally decided to buy from the market. It used to be that you could buy it from their cafeteria but now I think you can only buy it from their market. It’s called Bakelse Prinsess or Cream Cake with Almond Paste. A box of 4 of these frozen cakes costs $5.99.

Ikea Cream Cake with Marzipan – Bakelse Prinsess

Ikea Cream Cake with Marzipan – Bakelse Prinsess

Ikea Cream Cake with Marzipan – Bakelse Prinsess

Ikea Cream Cake with Marzipan – Bakelse Prinsess

From Ikea:

BAKELSE PRINSESS

A cream cake with raspberry and vanilla custard filling, coated with pink marzipan. Serve at festive occasions with coffee or tea.

If you’re like me and you’re a huge fan of the reality competition television series The Great British Bake Off, then you’re probably familiar with the Swedish Prinsesstårta or princess cake. The Ikea version is like a simplified, miniature version of that with with only one layer each of cake, jam, cream and almond paste. Unfortunately, the Ikea cake is disappointingly bland.

The bottom cake layer is dry and crumbly, like a stale sponge cake. The jam is tasteless. Honestly, I didn’t even realize that there was jam. Not only is there barely any jam but what little there is has barely any raspberry flavor. The cream layer is like a subtly sweet and firm ice cream minus any vanilla flavor. The outer pink layer of marzipan doesn’t taste at all like almonds; it’s more like a subtly sweet, plain sugar icing.

Overall, bland, bland, bland. Nice presentation but totally devoid of flavor.

I don’t recommend the Ikea version but I still want to try an authentic prinsesstårta one day because I’m sure it would taste a lot better.

Leave a Reply

