Revlon Super Lustrous Shine Lipsticks – Pink Cognito, Lovers Coral, Honey Bare

Revlon Super Lustrous Shine Lipsticks – Pink Cognito, Lovers Coral, Honey Bare

CVS occasionally runs a great deal on Revlon Super Lustrous lipsticks: $6.99 with $4 ExtraBucks back. I’ve come across this promo a few times but I’ve never really been tempted. I know the Super Lustrous lipsticks get a lot of love within the beauty community but I find their regular and matte Super Lustrous lipstick formula a bit too dry for my liking.

I had some coupons and ExtraBucks that needed to be used and stacked on top of the sale CVS was running I was able to get several of the Shine lipsticks for free. I bought 4 of the Shine lipsticks in total but broke the purchases up into 2 transactions so I could use the ExtraBucks from the first transaction towards the lipsticks in the second transaction. It was a bit of trouble but worth it because I spent $0 out of pocket and ended up with even more ExtraBucks than I had started off with.

As someone with a lot of lip lines naturally, I prefer balmy, glossy lipsticks that have a bit of sheerness to them. I know a lot of people equate high pigmentation and extreme opacity to high quality but, for me, super opaque lipsticks tend to feel drier and emphasize lip lines more. In my experience, sheerer lipsticks with a glossy finish tend to be more forgiving on lip lines.

I’d given up on the Super Lustrous lipsticks a long time ago but on a whim I decided to try a few of the Shine formula Super Lustrous lipsticks. If you’ve ever looked at the Revlon display at the drugstore, you’ve probably noticed that Revlon divides their Super Lustrous lipsticks into distinct sections based on color family (e.g. red, pink, etc.) and finish (i.e. matte, shine). The Shine lipsticks are all grouped together into one corner of the Revlon display.

The Super Lustrous Shine lipsticks were introduced a few years ago and were widely panned by the beauty community mainly because, compared to the regular Super Lustrous lipsticks that most people are used to, the Shine lipsticks are a lot sheerer. Within the past couple of years, I’ve re-evaluated my makeup collection and, consequently, have purged a lot of lipsticks and I’ve come to the realization that tinted lip balms and glossy, sheer lipsticks are where it’s at for me, so I knew I needed to give the Shine lipsticks a shot. I’m glad I finally did because, you know what, I really like them and I think if you’re a fan of tinted lip balms that you’d like them too because that’s exactly what these feel like on the lips.

The Shine lipsticks have a lot more slip to them, glide across the lips more easily than the regular Super Lustrous lipsticks, are completely fragrance free and quite glossy. Compared to the Revlon Lip Butters, the Shine lipsticks are thinner, not as balmy, and are significantly sheerer (at least the shades I tried).

I purchased 3 colors: Pink Cognito, Lovers Coral and Honey Bare. My natural lip color is quite pale and while Pink Cognito and Honey Bare showed up on me after 3 or 4 layers, I’d say if you’re looking for color payoff you should probably skip these two shades as they’re super duper sheer (the Pink Cognito being sheerer than Honey Bare) and will probably look clear on most people. Lovers Coral which I think most people would enjoy, however, has much better pigmentation and is a really lovely sheer coral that shows up much pinker on my lips than in my hand swatch. Pink Cognito has a subtle hint of shimmer running throughout it but it really doesn’t translate on the lips. I swear there’s a tiny bit of gold shimmer in Lovers Coral, although most reviewers say there isn’t any, but as with Pink Cognito the shimmer really doesn’t show up on the lips. Honey Bare is completely devoid of shimmer.

All in all, I think the Super Lustrous Shine lipsticks are pretty nice and undeserving of the bad rap they get. You just need to adjust how you think of them because they’re really more like tinted lip balms than regular lipsticks. If you approach them more as the former, I think you’ll be really pleased. I have to say, however, that while I’m pleased with the Shine lipsticks I still prefer the thicker formulas of the Revlon Lip Butters and Almay Butter Kiss lipsticks because they do a better job of filling in lip lines compared to the thinner Super Lustrous Shine formula while still providing a lot of shine.

Revlon Super Lustrous Shine Lipsticks – Pink Cognito, Lovers Coral, Honey Bare

Bare lips

Revlon Super Lustrous Shine Lipstick – Pink Cognito

Revlon Super Lustrous Shine Lipstick – Lovers Coral

Revlon Super Lustrous Shine Lipstick – Honey Bare

Clockwise from top left: Bare lips, Pink Cognito, Lovers Coral, Honey Bare

2 thoughts on “Revlon Super Lustrous Shine Lipsticks – Pink Cognito, Lovers Coral, Honey Bare

  1. I picked up Lovers Coral recently. I love sheer formulas too – tinted lip balms are my preferred lip product choice. 🙂
    Your blog is lovely by the way. I just stumbled on it while searching for something else. Now just catching up on recent posts.

Leave a Reply

