Bring on the Trick or Treaters! Great deal on candy at CVS this week.

If you have ExtraBucks to spare, there’s a potential money maker on Halloween candy at CVS this week that I wanted to share before the end of the week.

I was all set to buy Halloween candy at Walmart or Target but this deal ended being a far better deal!

CVS is, by far, my favorite drugstore. Sure, their retail prices on average are higher compared to other drugstores but if you know how to work their sales and use coupons, they end up being much, much cheaper in the end. The trick to shopping at CVS is to only shop the sales, stack manufacturer coupons with CVS coupons, and only buy when CVS is offering ExtraBucks back. I always have ExtraBucks in my wallet that I earned from previous CVS deals and then I roll them over by using them to pay for items that’ll earn more ExtraBucks.

For instance, I had $10 ExtraBucks from a Physicians Formula deal that I took advantage of a few weeks ago and I used them to pay for the candy I bought this week.

The CVS deal this week is 5/$15 on Mars and Hershey’s Snack and Fun sizes with a bonus $5 ExtraBucks back. The CVS coupon machine was spitting out $3 off 3 Reese’s or Kit Kats last week for everyone, so if you’re still holding onto that coupon now’s the time to use it. Also, right now there’s a printable $1 off 2 bags of Mars Snickers/Twix/M&Ms/Milky Way/3 Musketeers and, if you’re a member of SavingStar, there’s a manufacturer’s coupon for $1 off 2 bags of Mars candy that you can load onto your CVS card.

I bought three bags of white chocolate Kit Kat (I love white chocolate!) and two bags of Twix which qualified me for the 5/$15 deal. The CVS coupons for $3 and $1 off were immediately deducted from my total. However, SavingStar reimburses/pays out consumers separately at a later date, like ebates or mrrebates, so any SavingStar savings won’t show up on a receipt.

After handing over my $10 ExtraBucks, my total was $1 plus $1.29 in tax but I’ll get that $1 back from SavingStar eventually, so I really only had to pay tax and I earned $5 in ExtraBucks back. Even better, the cash register printed out another $5 ExtraBucks for me because of qualifying CVS Beauty Club purchases that I’d made previously.

53.4 oz (that’s over 3 lbs) of candy for $1.29? Not too shabby. Come at me, trick or treaters! I’m ready!

Even if you don’t have ExtraBucks on hand, if you use CVS and manufacturer’s coupons the deal is still pretty awesome considering you’ll get $5 ExtraBucks back to spend on whatever you want next time. And if you don’t use SavingStar, there’s also a printable coupon for Mars candy on redplum.com that you can use. Hope that helps!

