BECCA Mineral Blush – Wild Honey & Damselfly

Becca Mineral Blush – Wild Honey & Damselfly

I liked Gypsy, Songbird and Sweet Pea so much I decided to purchase two more Becca Mineral Blushes during Sephora’s VIB sale. This time I chose Wild Honey, which seems to be all the rage on YouTube, and Damselfly ($32 each).

Becca Mineral Blush – Wild Honey & Damselfly

Wild Honey is described as a peachy nude and Damselfly as a bright coral. Both shades contain fine microshimmer for a luminous finish. They’re not quite as glowy as Gypsy but more so than Sweet Pea and Songbird in my opinion.

I’ve got to admit after being blown away by my first three Mineral Blushes these two didn’t wow me. Next to Sweet Pea and Songbird, Wild Honey and Damselfly don’t look incredibly unique. Sure, they look different when swatched really heavily on my hand but applied normally in a sheerer layer on the cheeks, they all look rather similar.

I tried a bit of an experiment. I applied Damselfly on my left cheek and discovered that if I applied Songbird sparingly on my right cheek that it looked darn close to Damselfly. The match was even closer if I mixed Songbird with a pinkier blush like Sweet Pea or Gypsy. Between Damselfly and Songbird, I think Songbird’s much more versatile and unique. I can use it lightly for a softer pinky peach or apply it more heavily for more of a burnt coral look.

Becca Mineral Blush (clockwise from top) – Wild Honey, Damselfly, Songbird, Sweet Pea, Gypsy

Becca Mineral Blush (l-r) – Wild Honey, Damselfly, Songbird, Sweet Pea, Gypsy

Becca Mineral Blush Wild Honey (left), Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer in Light Bronzer (right)

As for Wild Honey, yes, it’s a gorgeous bronzy peach blush and I can see why there’s so much hype surrounding it but the first time I used it I knew it reminded me of something: my beloved Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer in Light Bronzer.

I’ve swatched and blogged briefly about the Physicians Formula Airbrushing powder bronzer before. The texture’s ultra smooth and creamy, with a beautiful satin finish and amazing color payoff. The color’s definitely more on the peachy side so it’s not ideal for contouring or all over bronzing but I’ve mentioned before that I seek out peachier bronzers and use them as blushes, and the Airbrushing bronzer is my favorite for that purpose. I’m actually on my second compact because it was practically all I used as a blush during the summer. I don’t know why this bronzer or Physicians Formula in general don’t get more love. They’re by far my favorite drugstore brand for powder face/cheek products. I highly recommend their Mineral Wear and Airbrushing lines as well as their Powder Palette Multi-Colored blushes and bronzers.

The first time I used Wild Honey I immediately thought of the Physicians Formula Airbrushing bronzer . Much like the Becca Mineral Blushes that look quite different when swatched heavily but very similar when sheered out, Wild Honey and the Airbrushing bronzer look very different heavily applied but the more you blend them out the more they start looking the same.

Becca Mineral Blush Wild Honey (left), Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer in Light Bronzer (right)

In a heavy swatch, Wild Honey looks a lot redder next to the golden peach Airbrushing bronzer. However, when you sheer them out the differences become less and less noticeable. They’re not dupes but close enough that I don’t need both in my life.

To be honest, I prefer the Physicians Formula bronzer. Becca Wild Honey contains very fine shimmer particles which are a bit obvious in direct sunlight and I’m not a big fan of that. The Airbrushing bronzer has a satin finish so it’ll still give you that luminosity minus the shimmery bits. Also, although it’s a subtle difference especially when the products are applied lightly, I feel that the golden peach of the Airbrushing bronzer is a bit more flattering than the redder peach of Wild Honey which can look slightly ruddy on me.

So if you’ve been thinking about getting Wild Honey but it’s a little out your budget, give the Physicians Formula bronzer a try. It comes in two shades. I have the lighter shade. If you have a deeper skin tone, the darker shade might be worth a try. I’ve never used that one but I assume it’ll give the same effect, just a darker golden peach than the one I own. (ETA: I have some much better swatches in daylight here.)

Becca Mineral Blush Wild Honey (left), Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer in Light Bronzer (right)

It’s probably not a surprise but I ended up selling off both Becca Wild Honey and Damselfly on my blog sale. The quality’s great — no complaints there — but the colors simply weren’t unique enough to my collection to justify keeping them.