BECCA Mineral Blush – Gypsy, Songbird, Sweet Pea

BECCA Mineral Blush – Gypsy, Songbird, Sweet Pea

You may recall that I wasn’t too impressed with the BECCA Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed Powder in Rose Gold that I bought during last year’s Sephora VIB sale. It was a lot bronzier than I expected, very sparkly and crumbled in transit. My whole experience with it really turned me off from buying any of BECCA’s other pressed powder highlighters. But I’m always hearing about how great their powder blushes are so I decided to give the brand another chance and recently purchased three Mineral Blushes in the shades Gypsy, Songbird, and Sweet Pea (0.20 oz, $32 each).

BECCA Mineral Blush

The compact consists of a a black, rubberized material (reminiscent of NARS packaging) with a domed metal top that features the BECCA logo. It measures approximately 2.5 inches in diameter and fits right in the palm of my hand.

The packaging really speaks to my sci-fi loving heart. Let’s be real, they look like little UFOs. Adorable, if you ask me.

BECCA Mineral Blush

I’ve gotta say just based on swatches that I’m already liking these blushes a whole lot more than the pressed Shimmering Skin Perfector. Rather than being sparkly or shimmery like Rose Gold, the Mineral blushes all have more of a sheen with a hint of shimmer. The finish is neither totally matte nor completely shimmery but somewhere in between.

The texture on these, like the Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed powder, is very soft and loosely packed. If you’re used to swirling your brushes into your blushes, you’ll definitely kick up a lot of dust. Instead I suggest just lightly touching your brush to the surface of the blush. Don’t worry, you’ll pick up plenty of product that way. The blushes are all nicely pigmented anyway so you really don’t need a lot of product. And it’s better to re-dip and layer on the blush gradually if you need more color than create a ton of powdery mess in the pan.

BECCA Mineral Blush – Gypsy, Songbird, Sweet Pea

Gypsy is described as Ballerina Pink. It’s a cooler toned pink in person than I expected and out of the three blushes I own I’d say Gypsy is the glowiest. It’s really pretty but I’m still not sure if the color is flattering on my skin tone. I need to play around with it some more.

Songbird was the main reason I wanted to give BECCA’s Mineral Blushes a try. You all know I have a weakness for orange cheeks and lips. BECCA describes Songbird as a bright orange pink, although I must say I don’t see a lot of pink in it on my skin but that’s fine by me. MakeupTIA recently named it as one of her October Favorites and that was the final push I needed to place my Sephora order.

Sweet Pea was a completely spontaneous, last minute purchase. I’m still not sure why I went with it but I’m glad I did. It’s described as a rosy plum nude. I’ve made it clear in the past that I try to stay away from rosy blushes as well as colors that are cooler; in general, blushes that are described as berries and plums. Luckily for me I don’t see much, if any, plum in Sweet Pea on my skin. It reads as a warm, peachy pink, nude blush on me. If Songbird is too bright and orange for you, Sweet Pea might be a good choice. It’s more muted and toned down compared to Songbird but still quite warm.

Sweet Pea reminds me of one of my favorite drugstore nude blushes, Physicians Formula’s Blushing Nude. I don’t think it’s a dupe but it might be a good, less expensive alternative if Sweet Pea is out of your budget or you don’t live near a store that carries Becca. The Physicians Formula blush is more matte in comparison which could be a good or bad thing depending on your taste.

BECCA Mineral Blush – Gypsy, Songbird, Sweet Pea

2 thoughts on “BECCA Mineral Blush – Gypsy, Songbird, Sweet Pea

    • I hope you like them! I wish I lived near a store that carried Becca so I could swatch the rest of the blushes. I have my eyes on Damselfly and Flowerchild.

Comments are closed.