BECCA Wild Honey, Sweet Pea and Physicians Formula Bronzer Swatches: Take Two

Clockwise from top: Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer SPF30 (Light Bronzer), Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer SPF30 (Bronzer), BECCA Wild Honey, BECCA Bolero, BECCA Sweet Pea

All of the recent YouTube videos naming BECCA Sweet Pea and Wild Honey as weekly/monthly favorites had me rethinking my decision to purge them from my stash, so I repurchased both.

In the time since I last owned them I’ve discovered some new favorite blushes and, while the sun was still cooperating, I decided to bang out some swatches comparing them. I was never quite satisfied with the indoor lighting of my previous swatches and nothing beats daylight for taking pictures. These new photos are much truer representations  of the colors in real life.

Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer SPF30 (Light Bronzer), BECCA Wild Honey, Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer SPF30 (Bronzer)

So after repurchasing BECCA Wild Honey and re-swatching it alongside my beloved Physicians Formula Airbrushing Bronzers, I can now say definitively that I prefer the Physicians Formula bronzers.

As you can see, none of them are dupes but the colors are all quite similar. The lighter Physicians Formula leans a bit more golden, the darker bronzer leans more peach and the BECCA blush is more red but all give a very similar effect on the cheeks. If you want a bronzey blush but Wild Honey looks a touch too ruddy on your cheeks like it does on mine, you should seriously consider the Physicians Formula Airbrushing Bronzers. The powders are super creamy and pigmented with a lovely satin finish, unlike the slightly shimmery finish of Wild Honey. Plus the brand is constantly on sale at the drugstore (e.g. BOGO50%, 40% off, etc.) and you can usually stack those deals with coupons and store rewards, so you should be able to get them for under $7 each.

Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer SPF30 (Light Bronzer), BECCA Wild Honey, Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer SPF30 (Bronzer)


Not surprisingly, I decided to sell off my second BECCA Wild Honey on my blog sale. Sweet Pea, however, is a different story.

To tell the truth, I’ve always liked Sweet Pea but thought it was too similar to Bolero to keep and in the midst of my frenzy to purge everything, Sweet Pea was one of the blushes that I decided to let go.

BECCA Bolero, BECCA Sweet Pea

Bolero is very pigmented but more muted and neutral, not to mention completely matte, compared with the brighter, warmer and slightly shimmery Sweet Pea but the differences aren’t dramatic, in my opinion. When they’re buffed out on the cheeks they look rather similar. Still, Bolero is my go-to blush on most days and it is discontinued, so it makes sense to me to keep Sweet Pea around on stand-by. At least that’s how I’m justifying this purchase. LOL

