bareMinerals Faux Tan All Over Face Color

bareMinerals Faux Tan All Over Face Color

I don’t know about you but in the wintertime I always find myself reaching for warmer shades like peaches, oranges and corals rather than the more popular wines, berries and reds of the season. Staying cooped up indoors during these long, cold months always leaves me looking wan and pale and adding more warmth, by way of bronzer in particular, into my makeup routine is a way to counteract that.

Within the past couple of years bronzer has become one of the staples in my everyday makeup routine but I’ve recently gone through my entire collection and eliminated everything containing dimethicone, an extremely common ingredient that I’ve long known clogs my pores. Unfortunately, that meant I had to get rid of my beloved Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer. I considered going back to my previous favorite bronzer which is coincidentally also made by Physicians Formula (they make good bronzers!), the Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer, but then I remembered that there’s a bronzer that I’ve wanted to try for the longest time: bareMinerals’ Faux Tan All Over Face Color ($21). Years ago, back when I still followed him, Wayne Goss raved about Faux Tan. I have no idea if he still feels as strongly about it now as he did then but that review stuck in my head and it was only earlier this month that I finally decided to pull the trigger and buy it.

bareMinerals Faux Tan All Over Face Color

Faux Tan is a very pretty warm tan color that’s far less orange/red than bareMinerals’ more well-known Warmth bronzer, which I tried years ago and didn’t particularly like. It’s just as pigmented as Warmth — only a few tiny sprinkles produces excellent color payoff on my face — but it’s not as deep. I personally found Warmth very difficult to pull off because it’s so dark, orange and pigmented but I can see Faux Tan working on many skin tones from light to medium/tan. I’ve been using my e.l.f. Ultimate Blending Brush, a fantastic multitasker, to apply the powder to the tops of my cheeks and it adds a hint of warmth to my face without ever looking fake or obvious.

One of the best things about Faux Tan, in my opinion, is the finish which I’d classify as slightly luminous. It gives my skin a pretty, natural looking glow without any visible shimmer or ugly frost.

I’m quite satisfied with Faux Tan but now it’s got me curious about the other bronzer in their All Over Face Color line, A Little Sun, which is supposed to be an even lighter brown with a pink tone. I’ve tried Warmth and now Faux Tan; it only makes sense to complete the trilogy, don’t you agree? I think A Little Sun will be my next bronzer purchase.

bareMinerals Faux Tan All Over Face Color: Heavy swatch (left), Blended (right)

bareMinerals Faux Tan All Over Face Color: Heavy swatch (left), Blended (right)

Leave a Reply

