theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer

theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer

Last week theBalm launched Cindy-Lou Manizer (8.5 g/0.3 oz, $24) on their website. It joins Mary-Lou Manizer and Betty-Lou Manizer in theBalm’s range of multipurpose face shimmer/eye shadow pressed powders.

theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer

When I heard a new peachy pink colored xxx-Lou Manizer had come out, I didn’t even hesitate and ordered it immediately. I own and love the other two powders and I was certain I would love this third one as well.

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer

The first time I held Cindy-Lou in my hand I noticed a difference in packaging right away. Not only is it slimmer, it’s more lightweight too. The circumferences of the Mary-Lou, Betty-Lou and Cindy-Lou compacts are all the same but there is a visible height difference. Cindy-Lou is a little shorter than the other two.

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer, theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

If you take a look at the interiors, you’ll notice that Cindy-Lou’s mirror is slightly larger than those in the Mary-Lou and Betty-Lou compacts.

A bigger mirror and less bulky packaging? I’m all for that!

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer, theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer, theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer, theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

I would describe Mary-Lou as the highlighter of the range, Betty-Lou the bronzer, and Cindy-Lou the blush. All three have the same intense, frosty finish and their similarly soft, smooth, buttery textures and high pigmentation mean that these face powders can be used as eye shadows, too.

I would prefer to use Cindy-Lou as a highlighter but I think it’s easier to use Cindy-Lou as a glowy blush on my skin tone simply because the powder’s so pigmented and easy to overdo. If I want to use it as a highlighter I have to be very careful or else it’ll look like I took my blush a little too high on my face. It’s so easy to pick up too much product on a brush since the powder is very soft.

To those with fair skin who want to use Cindy-Lou as a highlighter, I recommend using a very, very light touch or a fan brush.

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer, theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer

ETA: Here’s Cindy-Lou swatched alongside some of the other highlighters in my makeup collection.

Clockwise from top left: theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer, Elizabeth Arden Rose Illumination, Bare Minerals The Magic Moment, Hard Candy Pin Up, Bare Minerals The Love Affair, Bare Minerals The Shining Moment, Stila Kitten, LORAC Spotlight, Kevyn Aucoin Candlelight, Stila Dancing with the Stars Illuminating Powder, theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer

Clockwise from top left: theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer, Elizabeth Arden Rose Illumination, Bare Minerals The Magic Moment, Hard Candy Pin Up, Bare Minerals The Love Affair, Bare Minerals The Shining Moment, Stila Kitten, LORAC Spotlight, Kevyn Aucoin Candlelight, Stila Dancing with the Stars Illuminating Powder, theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer

And, for the curious, here’s Cindy-Lou next to Becca’s Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Rose Gold. The Becca powder is a darker peachy bronze with larger, less refined shimmer particles.

theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer, Becca Rose Gold

3 thoughts on “theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer

  1. I love Cindy-Lou! Thanks for the review, also I purchased my first Mary-Lou Manizer with Cindy and they have changed the packaging for all of the lou-manizers to the more sleek compact and larger mirror. It make storage a lot easier!

Comments are closed.