Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure – Gold Roses

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure – Gold Roses

I finally found and bought a bottle of the much coveted Gold Roses the other day at CVS. This nail polish was actually part of the limited edition Fall 2013 Sally Hansen Rent the Runway collection.

I was so excited to come across Gold Roses because so many YouTubers have named it as a favorite in their videos. It’s definitely a very pretty rose gold color but honestly I was a little underwhelmed.

The color looks great on the nails but it shows a lot of brush strokes which I blame on the (in my opinion) horrendously oversized, wide, thick brush. It makes my nails look like they have ridges when they don’t. I’ve had similar issues with other Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure nail polishes as well as the new Triple Shine nail polishes that have an even thicker brush.

Sephora by OPI Chestnuts About You, Sally Hansen Gold Roses, L’Oreal Whimsical

I pulled out some other nail polishes from my collection that are similar in color to Gold Roses.

SOPI Chestnuts About You is peachier than Gold Roses with a metallic foil finish. L’Oreal Whimsical also has a foil finish but it’s a cooler pink with a more silvery base.

Sephora by OPI Chestnuts About You, Sally Hansen Gold Roses, L’Oreal Whimsical

I think I prefer both the SOPI and L’Oreal polishes over the Sally Hansen. The brushes aren’t as gigantic, the foil finishes are more complex and I don’t have any streaking issues with those formulas.

I love the Gold Roses color so I’m going to hang onto it for now but the minute I find a dupe from a different brand it’s outta here!

