L’Oreal Revitalift Bright Reveal Skin Care: First Impressions

When BzzAgent invited me to try the new L’Oreal Revitalift Bright Reveal skin care line I was excited but leery because the last L’Oreal skin care product I tried was a Youth Code Day/Night face cream back in 2011 and I was less than impressed with that. That moisturizer made all sorts of claims, both immediate and long term. It was supposed to smooth, hydrate, and diminish wrinkles but it didn’t contain any active ingredients like retinol or AHA. Instead it contained a lot of silicones which temporarily filled in lines and gave the appearance of smoother skin but the minute I washed my face I was back to square one. That Youth Code cream cost $24.99 and in my opinion was a total waste of money.

The new L’Oreal Revitalift Bright Reveal skin care line consists of four products:

  • L’Oréal Paris Revitalift Bright Reveal Brightening Daily Scrub Cleanser ($6.99)
  • L’Oréal Paris Revitalift Bright Reveal Brightening Day Moisturizer with SPF 30 ($19.99)
  • L’Oréal l Paris Revitalift Bright Reveal Brightening Daily Peel Pads ($19.99)
  • L’Oréal Paris Revitalift Bright Reveal Brightening Dual Overnight Moisturizer ($19.99)

What they say:

Formulated with Glycolic Acid, Pro-Retinol and Vitamin C, this revolutionary, dermatologist-inspired skincare regimen works as a complete regimen to reveal brighter, refreshed skin. The L’Oréal Paris Revitalift Brightening Daily Scrub Cleanser gently exfoliates dullness to brighten skin, while the Brightening Peel Pads work to resurface dull, uneven skin tone and reduce the appearance of wrinkles over time. Plus, the Brightening Dual Overnight Moisturizer and Day Moisturizer with Broad Spectrum SPF 30 work together to reduce the appearance of wrinkles while evening and brightening skin tone in just one week. The result? Radiantly beautiful skin.

I do want to state up front that I received these products to test for free via BzzAgent but if you’ve been following my blog for awhile you know that doesn’t guarantee a positive review. I’ve given scathing reviews to free stuff I’ve gotten through BzzAgent before.

Prior to using the Bright Reveal products I’d been using the Physicians Formula Argan Oil and CVS Moisturizing Lotion (knockoff of the CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion) as my facial moisturizers, the Neutrogena Deep Clean Gentle Scrub (0.5% Salicylic Acid) as my facial cleanser, Stridex Maximum Pads (2% Salicylic Acid) and Paula’s Choice AHA Gel (8% Glycolic Acid). I’ve been using the Paula’s Choice AHA Gel since 2013 and the other products for 1-2 years. I have extremely dry but clog- and flake- prone skin and my skin has always reacted better to a combination of glycolic acid and salicylic acid compared to benzoyl peroxide. Benzoyl peroxide is way too drying for me and makes my skin flake like crazy.

I received all four of the L’Oreal Revitalift Bright Reveal products on Thursday, August 11 via USPS and I stopped using whatever skin care products I had previously been using cold turkey in order to really test these new products. I’m currently on Day 4 of use and I have to say my first impressions of Bright Reveal are extremely positive.

With the exception of the Daily Peel Pads, all of the L’Oreal Revitalift Bright Reveal products are all mildly scented which I think is a huge step up from the Youth Code line that has a stronger, cologne type scent that I personally didn’t care for.

The Bright Reveal Brightening Daily Scrub Cleanser is a foaming gel cleanser with a soft citrus scent and exfoliating particles that’s kind of similar in texture to the Neutrogena Pink Grapefruit Foaming Scrub that I used to use years ago. It contains glycolic acid (the ingredients don’t indicate how much) and you’re supposed to use the cleanser every morning and every night. For me there aren’t enough scrubby bits in it for me to consider this a true facial scrub; it’s more of foaming gel cleanser with a few scrubby bits thrown in. If I want an actual physical face scrub, I’d go for a product like the Kate Somerville Exfolikate, Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion or Olay Regenerist Instant Exfoliate & Renew System which are all scrubs chock full of superfine micro exfoliating particles.

The Bright Reveal Brightening Day Moisturizer with SPF 30 is a lightweight moisturizer that sinks into my skin quickly and smells like sunscreen (with a hint of citrus) which is expected of a SPF lotion. It contains glycolic acid, Pro-Retinol and vitamin C. This was the product in the Bright Reveal line that I was the most skeptical about because I’ve always been under the impression that products containing glycolic acid and retinol should only be used at night since they make the skin more sensitive to the sun. I’m not a skin care expert by any means but it just sounds counterproductive using glycolic acid and retinol in the daytime even if the moisturizer contains SPF. I have to say, though, that I’m very pleased with how moisturizing the Bright Reveal moisturizer is. The combination of the Bright Reveal cleanser and moisturizer in the mornings leaves my skin looking really hydrated and glowing. Most moisturizers aren’t sufficiently moisturizing for me and I usually need to supplement them with other moisturizers or oils but I’ve only been using the Bright Reveal Day Moisturizer in the mornings since last week and it’s been working great. That might have to do with the fact that we’re currently experiencing really hot (90+ degrees Fahrenheit), humid weather in New York. I wonder if this moisturizer will be enough for me when the weather turns cooler and drier.

The Bright Reveal Brightening Daily Peel Pads come 30 pads to a jar which if you use one per night should last a month. This is the second step of the recommended nighttime regimen following the scrub cleanser. Compared to the Stridex pads which are soaked to the point of dripping, the Bright Reveal pads are wet but not to excess. There’s no extra liquid pooling in the bottom of the jar of Bright Reveal pads the way it does in the Stridex jar of pads. The Bright Reveals pads are soaked with a 10% glycolic acid solution and I suspect it’s this product that’s responsible for most of the amazing results I’ve seen in my skin so far. The first night I used these pads my face was positively glowing and felt noticeably smoother. The pads are approximately the same size as the Stridex pads (~2.5 inches in diameter) but the Bright Reveal pads are perfectly round whereas the Stridex pads aren’t. The Bright Reveal pads also feel a bit thicker and rougher and I think they do a better job of manually exfoliating the skin.

L’Oreal RevitaLift Bright Reveal Brightening Daily Peel Pad (left), Stridex Maximum Pad (right)

The Bright Reveal Brightening Dual Overnight Moisturizer is the final step of the nighttime regimen following the cleanser and pads. This is a 4% glycolic acid moisturizer that also contains vitamin C and Pro-Retinol and comes in a dual chamber pump bottle. One chamber contains a clear gel and the other contains an opaque lightweight lotion. The clear gel feels very glycerin-rich and the combination of the gel and cream rubbed into my skin leaves my face looking super hydrated but feeling tacky to the touch. It takes awhile for my skin to fully absorb the moisturizer and for the stickiness to go away but my face looks fantastic in the morning so I think a little bit of discomfort is worth it. The moisturizer has a soft, clean scent to my nose.

So far I’m extremely pleased with the Bright Reveal products. My pores are less congested (not that they were horrible before but I notice a difference) and as a result look tighter and smaller, my skin looks smoother, hydrated and more glowy, and I’m experiencing far less daily flakiness and dry patches than usual. I have an extremely dry skin type so flakes and dry patches are the norm for me. My previous skin care regimen went a long way in keeping the flakes and dry patches at a manageable level but ever since I started using the Bright Reveal products I’ve noticed a significant decrease in those symptoms. The improvements I’ve seen in my skin were almost instantaneous and my foundation and makeup now go on much more smoothly and look more flawless. I’ve used drugstore nighttime moisturizers containing retinol before (e.g. RoC, Neutrogena) but they always caused a lot of dryness for me and I haven’t noticed that with the Bright Reveal products which is a pleasant surprise.

Another thing that’s really surprising is how well my skin’s doing without salicylic acid so far. I’ve probably had a BHA or salicylic acid product in one form or another as part of my skin care routine for at least 10 years now. Salicylic acid and either a scrub or chemical exfoliant (e.g. glycolic acid) working together were the only way I was able to keep my skin clear: the glycolic acid to get of dead skin and the BHA to clean out the pores. I think there’s a misconception that only people with oily skin have to deal with clogged pores and blemishes but dry skin people combat the same issues. If I don’t exfoliate frequently, I get a build up of dry, flaky skin which not only looks bad on its own but makes whatever makeup I put over it look horrible. On top of that, all that dry, flaky skin on the surface of my face traps dirt, dead cells, and oil in my pores and that prevents cleansers from doing their utmost. If I don’t keep the dry, flaky skin at bay that leads to congested pores and blemishes. I’ve been using the Bright Reveal products solely for the past four days and normally if I cut out BHA from my routine for this long my pores would be clogged by now but they aren’t. The only reason I can think of of why they aren’t is my previous glycolic acid treatment was 8% whereas the Bright Reveal pads are 10% glycolic acid. I know the higher concentration of glycolic acid is working because my skin looks and feels much smoother. And if it’s doing a better job of exfoliating, that allows the cleanser to work more effectively which is probably why my pores are less congested. Maybe I’ll have to add a BHA back into my routine later on but the Bright Reveal products seem to be working really well on their own right now.

Time will tell whether I continue to see even more improvements or if the initial positive results quickly hit a plateau. I’ll follow up at the one month mark.

Left to right: L’Oréal Paris Revitalift Bright Reveal Brightening Daily Scrub Cleanser, L’Oréal Paris Revitalift Bright Reveal Brightening Day Moisturizer with SPF 30, L’Oréal Paris Revitalift Bright Reveal Brightening Dual Overnight Moisturizer

3 thoughts on “L’Oreal Revitalift Bright Reveal Skin Care: First Impressions

  1. Love your reviews. They are so in-depth. I might try out the CVS lotion comparable to CeraVe because I got a sample of the CeraVe facial lotion and really like it but don’t want to pay too much especially if CVS works just as great.

    • Thanks! I hope the review was helpful. 😀

      I was using the CVS lotion and it’s okay but I’ve bounced around between other CeraVe dupes depending on what’s on sale. Walmart’s Equate in-house brand and Target’s Up & Up label also make CeraVe dupes and I recall liking those slightly more and they’re also cheaper. I think the reason I bought the CVS lotion in the first place was because it was on sale at the time which made it less expensive than the other options. You should definitely consider the Equate and Up & Up dupes.

Leave a Reply

