Coastal Scents Revealed Palette

Coastal Scents Revealed Palette

The internet was all abuzz during the holiday season when Coastal Scents released their Revealed Palette. A neutral palette composed of 20 matte and shimmer eye shadows it was instantly dubbed by many as an Urban Decay Naked and Naked2 dupe, so it came as no surprise when it sold out online. Considering the Naked palettes are $52 apiece, it’s difficult to resist a dupe with a retail price of only $19.95. And it was impossible for me to pass over when Coastal Scents reduced the price to a mere $9.95 for their Black Friday sale.

Coastal Scents Revealed Palette

The eye shadows have the bare minimum in packaging. This is a very slim, extremely lightweight palette with a cardboard exterior and no mirror inside. I’ve used a few palettes with cardboard packaging (e.g. theBalm Meet Matt(e) Nude, POP Beauty Lid Bronzer, LORAC Unzipped, LORAC Pro) and I’ve got to say that the cardboard material of the Revealed palette feels the thinnest and least durable out of all the palettes I’ve ever owned. Honestly, it feels cheap and I wouldn’t feel comfortable traveling with it but I paid $9.95 so I wasn’t expecting the packaging to be posh. Corners had to be cut somewhere to bring the price down.

Coastal Scents Revealed Palette

Coastal Scents Revealed Palette

The colors admittedly are beautiful and it’s not difficult to see how one would be able to create a number of work-appropriate daytime looks as well as smokier nighttime looks with this palette. However, I wasn’t as wowed by this palette as other people.

The shimmer shadows are my favorites in this palette. They’re all highly pigmented and smooth. Some, like the gold shade, are buttery soft. But the mattes…I’m underwhelmed. Mattes in general are drier, at least all of the ones I’ve tried so far. The matte shadows in this palette are no different but they feel stiff in the pans and compared to the shimmer shadows are lacking in pigmentation. The fifth shade from the left in the top row — the taupe — was the most disappointing of all. I could barely get it to show up on my skin.

Coastal Scents Revealed Palette

I currently have an excess of eye shadow palettes in my stash so I decided to put the Revealed palette up against two other drugstore price range neutral palettes in my stash: Sonia Kashuk’s Eye on Neutral and Eye on Neutral Shimmer palettes. Whichever palette(s) performed better would get to stay and the loser would have to go.

Sonia Kashuk Eye on Neutral Shimmer (top row), Coastal Scents Revealed shimmer shades (bottom row)

First, I compared the Sonia Kashuk Eye on Neutral Shimmer palette with the shimmer shadows from the Coastal Scents Revealed palette.

The colors are similar, the finishes are similar, and both palettes are highly pigmented. A few of the Revealed shimmers are creamier than the SK shadows but only marginally. Based on those factors, the CS palette just barely edged out the SK palette.

Coastal Scents Revealed matte shades (top row), Sonia Kashuk Eye on Neutral (bottom 3 rows)

The mattes are a whole different story though. The Sonia Kashuk mattes feel drier to the touch but are so much more pigmented than the five matte shadows in the Revealed palette. Just take a look at the difference in the two black shades. The Sonia Kashuk matte palette blows the CS mattes out of the water.

In the end I chose to get rid of the Coastal Scents palette and keep the two Sonia Kashuk palettes. The shimmers in the two palettes aren’t that dramatically different from one another so the matte shadows were the deciding factor for me.

I would recommend this palette for those looking for affordable neutral shimmer shadows but if you want good mattes I suggest looking elsewhere.

