Revlon ColorStay Crème Eye Shadow – Praline

Revlon ColorStay Crème Eye Shadow – Praline

Revlon recently came out with a new collection of  crème eye shadows. I only saw four or five neutral shades in a special display at CVS but if you check Revlon’s website it seems like they’ll be rolling out even more shades soon. I picked up Praline, a beige pink with a shimmery finish and it was $8.49 which is about the same price as Maybelline’s Color Tattoos.

Revlon ColorStay Crème Eye Shadow – Praline

Revlon ColorStay Crème Eye Shadow – Praline

Revlon ColorStay Crème Eye Shadow – Praline

The bottom portion (glass jar) that the Revlon creme shadow comes in appears to be about the same size and shape as Maybelline’s Color Tattoos but the upper black plastic lid of the Revlon shadow is much taller. The extra height in the lid is due to the brush applicator which slides in and out of the lid and comes with each Revlon creme eye shadow. The brush that’s included is usable if a bit scratchy and stiff. I’ve come across a few reviews that say they get better pigmentation and more even application using their own brushes to apply these new Revlon shadows. I’ve tried applying Praline with a flat synthetic eye shadow brush and it’s all right but I find it much quicker and easier to apply using my fingers.

I don’t know how the other shades in the collection compare, especially the darker matte shades, but Praline goes on a bit sheer. I need to apply about two layers to even out the color and even then I don’t think I would call it totally opaque.

Compared to the Color Tattoos, the formula of the Revlon creme shadow feels thinner and isn’t as creamy. It also dries and sets on the skin much faster than the Color Tattoos so I have to be really quick about blending. Creasing hasn’t been an issue for me. Praline wears just as well on my lids as the Color Tattoos.

If you follow my blog then Praline shouldn’t have come as a surprise. It’s exactly the type of color that I always gravitate towards: a shiny light neutral color. Praline’s a pretty, eye brightening shade with quite a lot of shimmer but nothing I’d consider chunky or glittery. I pulled out a few shadows from my makeup collection to compare and definitely spotted some similarities but no dupes. Praline looks good on its own in my opinion but it also works really well as a base. I layered bareMinerals’ loose eye shadow in Bahamas on top of Praline in one of the photos below; I couldn’t quite capture the effect in a photo but in person it looked really intense and foiled.

Clockwise from top left: Revlon Praline, e.l.f. Cruisin’ Chic, bareMinerals Bahamas, bareMinerals Vanilla Sugar, bareMinerals The Overachiever, bareMinerals The Hot Spot

Clockwise from top left: Revlon Praline, e.l.f. Cruisin’ Chic, bareMinerals Bahamas, bareMinerals Vanilla Sugar, bareMinerals Schmooze (The Overachiever duo), bareMinerals Libation (The Hot Spot duo)

Bare eye (left), Revlon Praline – 2 layers (right)

Bare eye (left), Revlon Praline – 2 layers (right)

Revlon Praline (2 layers)

Revlon Praline (2 layers)

bareMinerals Bahamas over 2 layers of Revlon Praline

Leave a Reply

