e.l.f. All Over Cover Stick swatches (Pic Heavy!)

I’ve been seeing a lot of posts over at MUA asking about the shades of e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks. I completely understand people’s confusion and frustration. The swatches on e.l.f.’s website aren’t exactly the best and I actually ended up buying the first five lightest shades in order to find my best match.

Since today was pretty bright and sunny out I decided to do some swatches. For reference I’m about a MAC NC15-20, I wear the lightest shade (Porcelain Ivory) of Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse, and I always use the lightest shade of bb creams. I’m still coming off of my summer tan so I’m closer to the 20 side of the MAC shade spectrum right now. I should also note that my arms are a touch darker than my face.

I tried to take lots of different photos in various lighting outdoors (in the shade, in direct sunlight, partial shade/partial sun) to best capture the true colors of the All Over Cover Stick shades.Β 

Apricot Beige (Fair) is one of the lightest shades in the All Over Cover Stick range. Rather than apricot as its name would suggest, it actually has more of a yellow tone.

e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks

e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks

e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks

Ivory has a much stronger yellow tone than Apricot Beige (Fair). It would probably be best for people with skin on the very yellow side or for those looking for a yellow corrector to neutralize purplish undereye circles.

e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks

e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks

Light Beige is similar to Apricot Beige (Fair) in terms of color depth but it leans more pink instead of yellow. Speaking in MAC terms, Light Beige would be an NW shade and Apricot Beige would be the NC version.

I personally like Light Beige for my brown undereye circles because it helps neutralize the darkness.

e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks

e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks

I find that Rosy Beige is a little too dark for my face. It would probably suit NC/NW25 skin tones. I don’t find Rosy Beige particularly rosy either; it’s more of a peachy-yellow beige.

e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks

e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks

The darkest shade I own is Honey (Light) and it has a decidedly orange tone. Honey (Light) could possibly work as an orange corrector to neutralize blue undereye circles but I can’t see it working as a concealer on anyone except Oompa Loompas.

e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks

e.l.f. All Over Cover Sticks

Now that the holiday season’s approaching I know that e.l.f. will be having more sales so I hope this helps some of you out when you’re ordering online.

I have dry skin and still prefer my Cover Girl CG Smoothers concealer because it’s more moist and creamy, but I do like e.l.f.’s All Over Cover Sticks. They’re surprisingly creamy compared to many other drugstore stick concealers and the coverage is very good, too, actually better than my CG Smoothers. As long as I don’t apply too much at once I don’t have problems with the All Over Cover stick creasing, and I think it looks less cakey on me than MAC Studio Finish concealer.

I suggest using a brush or a combination of fingers and brush when applying the All Over Cover stick. The texture’s creamy but a little thick and has the potential to look cakey when applied with only fingers and not blended well. What I do is pick up a little product with my ring ringer; just swirl it along the top of the stick which warms up the product a little and makes it more spreadable. I then apply the product with my ring finger to my undereye area, gently patting it on. Finally, with a foundation or concealer brush, I blend and smooth the concealer out on my face.

ETA: I forgot to mention that these All Over Cover sticks make pretty decent eye shadow primers. I briefly talked about them in an old MUA review here. In the time since I’ve written the review e.l.f. has changed some of the All Over Cover stick shade names. Light is now Honey, and Fair is now Apricot Beige.

11 thoughts on “e.l.f. All Over Cover Stick swatches (Pic Heavy!)

  1. >Hello!I am planning to purchase this again, since Light Beige is a bit TOO light for me. Are Rosy Beige and Apricot Beige darker than Light Beige? Also, is Apricot darker than Rosy?Thank you πŸ™‚

  2. >Apricot Beige and Light Beige are very similar. They're equally light in color. Apricot Beige is simply the more yellow version of Light Beige. Rosy Beige is darker than both Apricot Beige and Light Beige.

  3. >You've got a new follower.Thanks so much for your plethora of swatches and descriptions – really helped! ^^ now I'm off to discover the rest of your elf articles..

  4. I have the light beige one, but mine actually looks like the honey-shade in your pics. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.