CVS Haul & Empties

I generally buy two or three skincare or makeup items at a time but it’s been quite awhile since I’ve done a proper multi-purchase beauty haul. However, as it happens, I had some CVS ExtraBucks that were about to expire, I was interested in trying something new, and I also needed to restock some skincare staples. The stars were aligned for a haul.

Empties

I completely finished up my big bottle of Kiss My Face Olive & Aloe Moisturizer and had to repurchase. One thing I noticed right away is that the old packaging played up the paraben-free and phthalate-free angle but the new packaging appears to be targeting the dry and sensitive skin crowd by focusing on the facts that the lotion is fragrance-free, natural/vegan and cruelty free. I love this stuff. It’s dimethicone-free which is important to me and works really well on both the face and body. It does take a bit of work to rub into the skin as it stays white until it’s fully absorbed but I love how clean the ingredients are and the fact that the lotion’s completely devoid of fragrance.

A newer skincare brand that I’m totally loving at the moment is Skinfix. I completely used up both tubes of their Extra Strength Sheer Face Ointment ($17.99) and Renewing Cream ($19.99) and immediately repurchased. The Extra Strength Sheer Face Ointment is a 5% colloidal oatmeal formula for the treatment of eczema and dry skin. I used to have a constant flaky, dry patch on my face but after using it it’s now completely gone. It contains petrolatum but it’s a little thinner and oilier compared to Vaseline. As for the Renewing Cream, I’ve been using it exclusively on my legs and elbows and it’s completely gotten rid of my dry and bumpy chicken skin there. The Renewing Cream has a light, creamy consistency and a subtle lime fragrance that I really enjoy. I was previously using the Alpha Hydrox 10% Glycolic Lotion to get my legs smooth and summer-ready but I’ve personally found the Skinfix Renewing Cream to be much more effective.

I also completely used up a tube of the Alba Botanica Un-Petroleum Jelly. This product has a consistency that’s very reminiscent of Vaseline but, unlike Vaseline, is completely natural and petrolatum-free. While I’d say the Un-Petroleum Jelly is definitely worth a try especially if you’re trying to avoid petrolatum, I personally prefer plain old petroleum jelly. The main difference between the two is Vaseline never really sinks into the skin whereas the Un-Petroleum Jelly does fully absorb into the skin. Admittedly, it takes awhile for the Un-Petroleum Jelly to sink into the skin but it does so eventually. I generally use products like Vaseline on top of my moisturizer as a protective topcoat to prevent moisture from escaping the skin, so the fact that the Un-Petroleum Jelly sinks into the skin and disappears makes it less effective for my purposes.

The Un-Petroleum Jelly was a bit hard to find in stores so I originally ordered two tubes of it online thinking I would love it. Now I have a backup tube of the Un-Petroleum Jelly that I know I’m not going to use. Oh well, I guess I’ll put it up on my blog sale. I’m sure someone else will appreciate it.

CVS was running a promo on Neutrogena (spend $30, get $10 ExtraBucks), so I decided to try a few new-to-me products. I grabbed a Purifying Cream Cleanser from their Natural line, the Oil-Fre Makeup Remover which I’ve heard good things about, and a bottle of their new Hydro Boost Foundation in the the lightest shade Classic Ivory.

Ugh, the Hydro Boost foundation! I’m not someone who usually returns makeup but this situation called for an immediate refund. In my opinion, the Hydro Boost is basically a more lightweight version of Neutrogena’s Healthy Skin Foundation with a huge doe-foot applicator that reminds me of Tarte Shape Tape. I had issues with the Healthy Skin foundation not being moisturizing enough, oxidizing, and looking cakey on my dry skin and I had the same exact issues with the Hydro Boost. Classic Ivory (which was also my Healthy Skin Foundation shade) was actually a good color match for me initially but quickly darkened and turned orange on my skin. Horrible, horrible!

I returned the Neutrogena foundation and decided to get two newer shades of Neutrogena’s MoistureSmooth Color Sticks. I had tried one of their Color Sticks ages ago back when chubby sticks first came onto the drugstore scene but it’s been years since then. I remember being quite impressed with the texture at the time but disliking the fruity fragrance and I was curious to see if my feelings had changed. I know that people rate the MoistureSmooth Color Sticks quite highly (emilynoel83 comes immediately to mind), so I definitely wanted to give them another chance and chose two of the more neutral shades, Almond Nude and Berry Brown. If I decide I still can’t get past the fragrance you can bet that these lipsticks will also pop up on my blog sale.

I’ve wanted to try a Micellar Cleansing Water for awhile now and was going to buy the Garnier version but when I saw the CVS knock-off right next to it on the shelf for $2 less I decided to give the latter a try. CVS offered two version but I went with the one that removes waterproof mascara.

Last but not least is the purchase I’m most excited about: the Sonic Cleansing Brush ($19.99) by CVS’ Beauty 360 house brand. This is basically a less expensive version of the pricier Foreo Mini Luna ($99). It’s a rechargeable, waterproof, multi-speed, silicone cleansing device that uses sonic vibrations to gently massage and deep clean the pores of the skin.

I know that you can find something similar (Solo Mio) on Amazon and eBay but you can a better deal at CVS. When I purchased mine I used ExtraBucks and a 30% coupon. Also, if you have a CVS ExtraCare Health card via your health insurance like I do, you automatically receive an additional 20% off of CVS brand health products including Beauty 360. With all the discounts, I paid less than $5 including tax for the Sonic Cleansing Brush. Awesome deal! I may actually go back and buy another.

Leave a Reply

