bareMinerals Invisible Bronze Powder Bronzer & A Little Sun All Over Face Color

bareMinerals Invisible Bronze Powder Bronzer (Fair to Light)

I decided to skip the Sephora sale this year and shopped bareMinerals instead. The main reason? I didn’t meet the VIB spending threshold last year, so I was knocked back down to regular Beauty Insider status. The 10% discount that lowly Beauty Insiders receive barely covers tax, so the sale wasn’t worth it in my opinion.

Meanwhile bareminerals.com had been running flash sales and 20% off sales these past few weeks which were much better deals. I picked up their 5-in-1 eyeshadow in Candlelit Peach for only $9 (originally $19) during one such flash sale which I’ve already swatched and reviewed. And during a 20% off site-wide sale, I got the new Invisible Bronze Powder Bronzer in the lightest shade, Fair to Light ($28), and an All Over Face Color in the shade A Little Sun ($21).

bareMinerals Invisible Bronze Powder Bronzer (Fair to Light)

bareMinerals Invisible Bronze Powder Bronzer (Fair to Light)

bareMinerals A Little Sun, Invisible Bronze Powder Bronzer (Fair to Light), Faux Tan

bareMinerals came out with their Invisible Light Translucent Powder Duo awhile back which many people compared to the Hourglass Ambient Light powders. I guess those proved to be really popular because more recently they released some Invisible Glow Highlighter and Bronzer singles. I’ve kind of fallen out of love with highlighters, so I was mainly interested in the Invisible Glow Bronzer and purchased one in their lightest shade (Fair to Light).

Ingredients: Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Glycerin, Glyceryl Caprylate, Lauroyl Lysine, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Levulinate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sodium Anisate, Alumina. May Contain (+/-): Mica, Carmina (CI 75470), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985).

To be perfectly honest and up-front, my expectations for the Invisible Glow Bronzer were pretty low. First, as I’ve expressed multiple times on my blog, although I keep trying them in the hope that one will change my mind I’m not the biggest fan of baked powders. Baked powders tend to be drier and less buttery than traditional powders, they kick up a lot of dust in the pan and they’re oftentimes quite drying on the skin. Second, as a person with extremely dry skin, there are certain ingredients that I try to avoid such as starch, talc, silica and kaolin. Basically oil-absorbing and mattifying ingredients. The Invisible Glow Bronzer is both a baked powder and contains corn starch so, right off the bat, it had two strikes against it. Yet I’d seen early positive reviews for their new baked bronzers, so I really wanted to give them a try regardless.

If you have fair skin and have difficulty finding bronzers that aren’t too dark or orange, the Fair to Light shade is going to be right up your alley. This is a very light, neutral shade that subtly warms up the skin without any obvious red or orange. It has a slight sheen to it but no obvious shimmer or sparkle. The color payoff is sheer but buildable. It’s nowhere as pigmented as bareMinerals’ traditional loose mineral bronzers. However, you get a whopping 7 grams of product with the Invisible Glow Bronzer, so feel free to go wild and pile it on because they give you more than enough to play with.

The Invisible Glow Bronzer is very nice — I’m actually a huge fan of the color and if it came in their classic loose mineral formula I’d pick one up in a heartbeat — but the corn starch is a deal breaker for me. It’s too drying/mattifying for my super dry skin. It looks great and extremely skin-like initially but becomes visibly powdery on my skin by midday. However, if you have fair skin that leans more normal/combo/oily and love the Physicians Formula Butter Bronzers for how light and subtle the colors are, definitely check out the Invisible Glow Bronzer in Fair to Light. Warning: it’s not as pigmented as the Butter Bronzers but the color and finish are gorgeous and you get a ton of product.

bareMinerals A Little Sun, Invisible Bronze Powder Bronzer (Fair to Light), Faux Tan

If, like me, you had a terrible experience with the bareMinerals’ iconic All Over Face Color in Warmth and had written off all bareMinerals bronzers forever, give their All Over Face Color in Faux Tan a try. It may seriously change your opinion on bareMinerals bronzers.

Despite bareMinerals marketing Warmth as a universally flattering shade for more than a decade, I think only a specific type of person can successfully pull it off. It’s simply too dark and too orange-red for most people, especially those of us with lighter skin. Instead, they should’ve been pushing Faux Tan all of these years. It’s a golden brown but far more neutral compared with Warmth and in my opinion far more wearable. The color isn’t as dark as Warmth but it’s just as pigmented and blends out easily; you only need a few tiny sprinkles of powder to give your face a natural looking, sun kissed glow. This powder has a tiny bit more sheen than the Invisible Glow Bronzer but no visible shimmer or sparkle and isn’t as drying because it’s starch-free. When I first got it I was worried that it would be too dark for me but it’s not; I just needed to use the product sparingly and apply with a light hand.

Ingredients: Mica (CI 77019), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Carmine (CI 75470), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)

bareMinerals A Little Sun, Invisible Bronze Powder Bronzer (Fair to Light), Faux Tan

The final item I purchased from bareMinerals was their loose mineral All Over Face Color in the shade A Little Sun which is described as a “light brown with warm rosy tones.” Compared with Faux Tan and Warmth, the color payoff is sheerer and I found myself having to build this color up on my cheeks more. While the color itself is very pretty and it possesses a sheen like all of the other bareMinerals bronzers that I’ve tried, it also contains a smattering of microshimmer. It doesn’t contain a lot of shimmer and most of it can be dusted away from the face easily with a big, fluffy brush but it’s still a bit shimmery nevertheless. Personally, I prefer my bronzers shimmer-free, so I like A Little Sun but I don’t love it.

Ingredients: Mica (CI 77019), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)

If I had to choose a favorite among these three bronzers, my pick would be Faux Tan, hands down. You don’t as much product with it compared with the Invisible Glow Bronzer — 1.5 grams versus 7 grams — but Faux Tan is much more pigmented, so you don’t need to use as much product to warm your face up. The finish is naturally glowy without being shimmery and I can see the color working on many people from the very light to medium/tan depending on how much or little of the powder you use; it’s very customizable and blendable.

One thought on “bareMinerals Invisible Bronze Powder Bronzer & A Little Sun All Over Face Color

Leave a Reply

