bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 – Candlelit Peach

bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 – Candlelit Peach

I just wanted to share with you all my new favorite “one and done” eyeshadow”: bareMinerals’ 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 in the shade Candlelit Peach ($19).

I’ve owned, blogged and raved about two other shades, Soft Linen and Barely Nude, in the past and out of all the makeup I’ve ever owned, they’re the only two eyeshadows that I’ve ever completely used up. Put simply, I love bareMinerals’ 5-in-1 shadows!

Why do I love them so much?

  1. Application is a breeze. Just dab a tiny bit onto the eyelids and blend out with a fingertip. No brushes necessary.
  2. They can be worn alone and have the opacity to cover and brighten eyelid discoloration, at least the three colors I’ve tried.
  3. They work great as eyeshadow primers and can be worn underneath powder and cream eyeshadows.
  4. The 5-in-1 shadows are very long-wearing. I’ve tried using concealers and foundations on my eyelids before to cover up discoloration but because those formulations are so much more emollient and because my eyelids fold very close to the lash line, those products all tend to crease on me. The 5-in-1 shadows are great because they have the coverage and neutralizing properties of a concealer and color corrector but the budge-proof cling of an eyeshadow primer. I haven’t had any issues with creasing when I’ve used the bareMinerals shadows.

bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 – Candlelit Peach

While I was writing up this review I referred back to my review of the Soft Linen and Barely Nude shades and realized I hadn’t gone into detail about the wand applicator aside from mentioning that it’s a doe-foot. It’s actually a flattened doe-foot or paddle shape, so you have a total of four sides to the applicator (two wide, flat sides and two narrower sides). When you pull the applicator out of the tube, the stopper doesn’t make full contact with the two wider, flatter sides of the wand so you end up with more product loaded on those two sides versus the two narrower sides of the wand. It really doesn’t take a lot of product to get good coverage from the 5-in-1 shadows, so I prefer using the cleaner, narrow, “fuzzy”  sides to dab the shadow onto my eyelids.

Unfortunately, I no longer have Soft Linen or Barely Nude in my collection because I used them both up, otherwise I’d swatch them all for you. What I can tell you is that Candlelit Peach is a light peach with subtle microshimmer. It doesn’t have quite as much microshimmer as Soft Linen but a bit more than Barely Nude. Honestly, though, the microshimmer is so fine and so sparse in these shadows that they look virtually matte in most lighting conditions. I only notice the shimmer in direct, bright sunlight and only when I hold a mirrored compact up to my eye. In my experience, you really have to be looking closely to spot the shimmer.

While Soft Linen and Barely Nude both did a great job at concealing and correcting eyelid discoloration, the colors weren’t perfect for me. Soft Linen leaned more yellow and although it brightened my eyelids, it also left them looking a little ashy. Barely Nude concealed really well but its cooler pink color wasn’t as brightening and didn’t look as seamless on my skin as I wanted. Basically, the undertones were wrong for me. Candlelit Peach, however, is my “just right” Goldilocks eyeshadow. The peachy color neutralizes my eyelid discoloration perfectly and gives me the blank canvas I was searching for.

In the swatch photos below, I have no other makeup on my face except for a little bit of NYX Gotcha Covered (Light) concealer in my undereye area. I accidentally got a tiny bit of concealer on my upper lash line near the inner corner of my left eye but otherwise I started with a completely bare face. If you’ve seen my concealer reviews then you know I have dark circles; I didn’t want them to distract from my swatches and review of Candlelit Peach.

I only applied two dots of Candlelit Peach and that was enough to cover my eyelids all the way up to the brow bone. The product spreads and blends very easily and as you can see, despite the microshimmer, looks quite matte on the skin.

Bare eyes

bareMinerals Candlelit Peach unblended (left), Bare eye (right)

bareMinerals Candlelit Peach blended (left), Bare eye (right)

bareMinerals Candlelit Peach


Physicians Formula Matte Sculpting, bareMInerals Candlelit Peach, Maybelline Linen

Anyone who suffers from dark circles understands the struggle of finding the right combination of color corrector and concealer. Using just concealer or just color corrector alone is usually not enough. You need both working together for maximum coverage.

Candelit Peach neutralized the darker pigmentation of my eyelids amazingly but the effect still wasn’t as brightening as I wanted. I knew, though, that if I layered a cream/ivory colored shadow on top of it it would give me the results I was looking for, so I searched my local drugstores and the two shadows that matched my requirements best were the ivory shade in Physicians Formula’s Matte Sculpting palette and Maybelline’s Expert Wear single eyeshadow in Linen.

Both shadows are great but I only needed one and, between the two, the yellower Physicians Formula powder was more brightening on my eyelids than the slightly pinker Maybelline Linen, so I decided to keep the former and blog sale the latter.

Bare eyes

bareMinerals Candlelit Peach blended (left), Bare eye (right)

bareMinerals Candlelit Peach + Physicians Formula Matte Sculpting (left), Bare eye (right)

As we age we lose volume in our face. I’ve noticed that especially in the thinning of my lips, deepening of my smile lines and in the increasing crepe-iness of my eyelids. Using the combo of Candlelit Peach with the Physicians Formula powder, however, helps create the illusion of brighter, plumper eyelids and slightly bigger eyes which I think looks more youthful. Technically it’s all about highlighting: using a light, matte color to enhance the targeted area and bring it forward.

Although I could totally wear Candlelit Peach on its own (and I often do), layering the Physicians Formula powder on top of it gives me the coverage and brightness I want and for the past couple of weeks this duo plus some mascara’s been all I’ve been wearing on my eyes. I’ve occasionally added one of the darker colors from the same Matte Sculpting palette to my lash line or crease but it’s been mainly Candlelit Peach plus the ivory powder.

These days I’m very low maintenance and minimalistic. It’s definitely simplified my makeup routine and made getting ready each morning a quicker and easier process.

Leave a Reply

