bareMinerals Cognac: Trying To Find A Dupe

bareMinerals The Regal Wardrobe, Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips All-in-1 Custom Nude Palette for Face & Eyes Natural Nude

I was doing a routine cleanup of my memory cards and stumbled across a couple of forgotten comparison/swatch pics. I’m pretty sure these were taken sometime during the summer because my skin in the swatch photo looks darker than it does currently.

At the time I believe I was searching for a dupe for bareMinerals’ Cognac, a gorgeous copper shade with a lovely buttery texture and rich color payoff. Cognac is a permanent shade that was included in the limited edition Regal Wardrobe palette and it was the one shade in that palette that I thought was worth keeping (as a whole the palette was too smoky for my tastes).

bareMinerals Cognac (top), Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips All-in-1 Custom Nude Palette for Face & Eyes Natural Nude (bottom)

I looked through all of the shadows in my makeup collection at the time and the closest I could find in terms of texture, finish and pigmentation were from Physician Formula’s Shimmer Strips All-in-1 Custom Nude Palette for Face & Eyes in the lighter Natural Nude shade. Unfortunately, there wasn’t an exact dupe but if you mixed a couple of shades from the Physicians Formula palette together you could probably come up with a pretty close approximation of Cognac. However, if you don’t need an exact dupe and what you’re after is warm metallic shadows in general with creamy smooth textures, the Physicians Formula palette is excellent. It’s a great multi-tasker that not only works well as individual eye shadows but bronzer and highlighter as well depending on which color blocks you concentrate. I reviewed the Physicians Formula palette before, so check out that blog entry for more swatches.

Leave a Reply

