Juvia’s Place The Nubian Eyeshadow Palette: Take Two!

Juvia’s Place The Nubian Eyeshadow Palette

No, you’re not seeing things. I decided to repurchase the Juvia’s Place Nubian palette. Last time I bought it directly from the Juvia’s Place website but had immediate buyer’s remorse (I was trying to purge my makeup stash, after all, not grow it) and put it up for sale unswatched as soon as I got it in the mail. This time I bought the Nubian palette when Juvia’s Place made its debut on Hautelook. It was $19 but with shipping it ended up costing as much as it did when I bought it off of the Juvia’s Place website, so about $25. This time, though, curiosity got the better of me and I swatched it.

Juvia’s Place The Nubian Eyeshadow Palette

Juvia’s Place The Nubian Eyeshadow Palette

To be perfectly honest, I was mainly interested in the lightest six shadows because I’m not really one for smoky makeup. I prefer natural eye looks and subtle definition. However, the palette at first glance did seem to offer a good variety of warm eye shadows in terms of color depth, hues and finishes, so I was excited to try it. Moreover, I initially thought that the lightest shade would become a favorite all over lid brightening shade. Sadly, that turned out not to be the case when I swatched the palette. Surprisingly, a lot of the shadows ended up looking quite similar on my skin, making several of the colors redundant. And the lightest shimmery shadow that looked like a peachy shade in the pan ended up being a sheer duochrome with a pink shift that appears primarily like a sheer pink shimmer on me. Not exactly what I was looking for.

The Nubian palette also reminded me a lot of Milani Earthy Elements palette. The warm color selection of the two palettes is very similar; the Milani is kind of like a condensed version of the Nubian palette although there are no dupes. As I mentioned in my review of the Milani Earthy Elements palette, the two lightest shimmer shades are sheer and kind of meh but the four deeper shadows more than make up for them. The two mattes are quite nice and pigmented and, personally, I think the two darkest shades appear richer, apply more smoothly and are just as pigmented as the Nubian shimmer shadows. Maybe it’s because I have really dry skin naturally and choose to skip eye primer (it’s my opinion that eye shadows should be able to stand on their own without having to rely on primers as a crutch) but I simply can’t get the Nubian shadows to build and apply as rich and saturated as I’ve seen others have on YouTube. But in the Nubian’s favor, the shimmery shadow in the top right corner of the Nubian palette is a real standout: intensely shiny and pigmented. If I were someone who reached for darker shadows often perhaps I’d appreciate the Nubian palette more but, honestly, I prefer the Milani palette.

Needless to say, I purged the Nubian palette…again.

If you generally stick to neutrals and want to dabble in warmer shadows but are hesitant about ordering online, give the Milani palette a try first. It’s a good way to gauge whether or not these types of colors will work for you at a lower price point. Just keep in mind that the two lightest shadows are very sheer. The Milani palette costs around $10 but is regularly on sale. Just wait for a good discount (i.e. BOGO, 30% off, etc.), utilize coupons and store rewards and you can usually get it for $5 or less.

Juvia’s Place Nubian Palette, Milani Earthy Elements

Milani Earthy Elements (top row), Juvia’s Place Nubian (bottom 3 rows)

Milani Earthy Elements (top row), Juvia’s Place Nubian (bottom 3 rows)

Milani Earthy Elements

One thought on “Juvia’s Place The Nubian Eyeshadow Palette: Take Two!

  1. I can’t believe you bought this twice! I guess your initial instincts were correct when you sold it unswatched. Too bad it didn’t deliver for you. I picked up the Milani palette because of you! ❤

Leave a Reply

