CVS Haul

My local CVS finally reset their Physicians Formula display. I’ve been stalking the store these past few weeks for the new 2017 products, the new matte and shimmer Highlight & Contour Palettes in particular, and my waiting finally paid off. But, woah, are they pricey. I thought the Physicians Formula Argan Oil which I love was expensive at $15.99 but these new palettes are $16.29 apiece. Luckily I had coupons and ExtraBucks that helped bring my total down.

I must say I did a really awesome job of couponing this week. My CVS was out of the new Campbell’s Yes! soups last week when they were 4/$6, so I got a raincheck and was able to complete the deal this week. I used four $1 off manufacturer coupons on the soups, $1 ExtraBucks and a $1 CVS coupon from the red scanner box. I also has a $1 CVS for cookies and used that to purchase a pack of oatmeal cookies which were $1.

So for four cans of soups and a pack of cookies my total came out to $0.

The Physicians Formula palettes were more expensive than I had expected at $16.29 each. In order to bring my total down, I used a $5 off $15 purchase CVS  coupon, $15 in ExtraBucks, and an $8 off Physicians Formula coupon from the red scanner box. I paid $4.98 and got $10 in ExtraBucks back.

I’ve only come across a handful of reviews for the new Physicians Formula palettes but the ones I’ve seen have all been positive, especially for the Shimmer Strobing palette which, between the two palettes, is the one most people seem to be purchasing. However, as you probably know if you’ve been following my makeup purging process on this blog, these days I’m extremely picky about the type of highlighter I use. Gone are the days when I loved super blingy, “you can see it from space” highlighters, like theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer. Nowadays I’m all about super subtle, sheeny highlighters such as RMS Living Luminizer and Tata Harper Very Illuminating. As such, I have a feeling that the shimmer palette will be way too intense for my liking. If that’s the case, and it almost certainly is, expect to see it pop up on my Blog Sale page shortly.

As for the Matte Sculpting palette, I’ve tempered my expectations. I don’t contour ever, so I didn’t buy it with that purpose in mind. Rather, I want to see if I can use it as an eye shadow palette. However, the last all matte eye shadow Physicians Formula palette that I tried, Canyon Classics, was a disappointment. But that was years ago and Physicians Formula has really upped their game since then, so I’m really not sure what to expect with the Matte Sculpting palette. I’m hoping for a pleasant surprise.

Leave a Reply

