Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

I mentioned last month that my black beautyblender Pro was on its last legs and I wanted to try a cheaper alternative. I’m late to the game but I finally got around to buying the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge.

There have been a whole bunch of drugstore beauty sponges coming out from brands like ecotools, NYX and L’Oreal but when I was at Walmart I saw that the Real Techniques sponges come in a 2-pack for $8.97 which on its own is a rather good deal. However, I remembered seeing a $1 cash back offer on Real Techniques sponges via the Ibotta app and that clinched it for me. If you do the math, that breaks down to a little less than $4 per sponge which sure beats paying $20 for a beautyblender.

Note: Please excuse the appearance of my beautyblender sponge. It looks a lot worse dry than it does wet but I do wash it daily after each use. It’s simply a really old sponge that’s in its death throes.

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge (dry), beautyblender Pro (dry)

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge (dry), beautyblender Pro (dry)

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge (dry), Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge (damp) beautyblender Pro (damp)

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge (dry), Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge (damp) beautyblender Pro (damp)

Based on info I’ve gathered from various sources, most people love the Real Techniques sponge and think it’s comparable to the beautyblender. However, they also say that the quality of the Real Techniques sponge has declined over the years and doesn’t hold up as well as it used to. I’ve only been using the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge for the past month so I can’t attest to the latter but as to the former I do agree that its a really good beautyblender dupe.

Dry, both sponges are approximately the same size; the Real Techniques sponge is slightly larger. Squeezing them when they’re dry, the beautyblender feels softer and squishier; the Real Techniques feels firmer. However, once they’re damp I honestly can’t a difference between the two; they feel equally squishy.

The beautyblender has a teardrop shape. The Real Techniques sponge looks kind of similar but has a pointier tip and the fat bottom is cut at an angle to create a flat edge which, in my opinion, makes it a lot easier to blend foundation. It’s a total time saver!

The only possible negative I can think of is the Real Techniques sponge seems a bit thin and delicate along the cut edge and pointy tip. When the sponge starts breaking down, I’m guessing those spots will be the first to fall apart. Otherwise, it’s a great product that works just as well if not better than the beautyblender. I honestly feel like an idiot for not trying it sooner especially if the earlier versions were even better quality.

I’ve already tossed my old beautyblender and the Real Techniques sponge has taken its place in my beautyblender holder (a.k.a. wire egg holder). Another perfect fit!

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge (dry)

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge (damp)

6 thoughts on “Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

  1. I had the RT sponge and it lasted less than a month, whereas I had the Beauty Blender for more than 2 years! I’ve purchased a new RT sponge to test out again – maybe I got a bad one.

  2. Wow, 2 years is amazing! I had the black beautyblender for about one and half years but it really started to fall apart this past month. Yikes, that doesn’t sound good about the RT. If I need to replace the RT sponge every month, I might as well just stick with the more expensive beautyblender. I’m hoping I lucked out and the RT holds up well.

  3. I think there are equal chances of getting “bad” sponges from both brands! I remember buying a two pack of the Beauty Blender Pro two years ago which I ended up giving to my mom and sister. Their sponges were soft, cushion-y and still going strong today. However, I brought myself a Beauty Blender Pro from Sephora last December and straight out of the packaging I could tell the texture was different and much more “dry” and porous feeling. It worked well enough but it started tearing and crumbling in just a few months. Same deal with the Real Technique ones. I’ve gotten a duo pack with the bad texture and one with the good texture. I’m just glad that the retailers I buy my sponges from have good return policies so I can just exchange them whenever I get a bad one!

  4. I have had my RT last a decent amount of time , I usually wash it with bath and body works soap . I bought the purple mini sponges from RT and they are amazing for around the eye area . They have a flat area on one side and it fits perfect !!
    I also purchased the RT diamond sponge but I haven’t tried it yet !!

    • I’ve been curious about the RT diamond sponge. If the Miracle Sponge holds up well, that’ll probably be my next sponge purchase 🙂 Let me know how you feel about it when you’ve gotten a chance to use it.

Leave a Reply

