Sorel Out N About Leather Duck Boots

In my Target Cyber Monday blog post several weeks back, I mentioned that I was waiting on a pair of boots from Amazon but never followed up with you all.

I had ordered a pair of Sorel Out N About boots that I’d had on my wishlist for months but they were on backorder which accounted for the delay. The boots normally retail for $115 but during the week of Black Friday they had been marked down to $85 on Amazon. Then on top of that there had been a 20% off code which took an additional $17 off. It was an amazing deal.

The boots arrived eventually and it was love at first sight, so much so that I ended up buying a second pair in a different color shortly thereafter. I had a bunch of Amazon gift cards saved up that I used on the boots, so altogether I think I spent approximately $15 per pair. Score!

Both pairs of boots are made of waterproof leather and rubber. The black pair have a smooth leather finish whereas the blue Dark Mountain boots have a pebbled leather finish. After wearing both pairs of boots for a couple of months, I personally prefer the pebbled leather because it’s more resistant to scuffing. I’d actually ordered a pair of Out N About boots back in April except in Quarry, a light gray color, but returned those because they arrived with scuff marks sustained from being tossed around in the box during transit. The black pair I received also had some scuff marks on arrival but it’s harder to tell on the darker leather, so I don’t mind as much.

The Out N About run small, so I would suggest ordering a half size up from your usual boot size. I usually wear a size 8 in sandals, flats and shoes that don’t require socks. In boots, sneakers and shoes that require socks, I usually take a size 8.5. With the Sorel Out N About I needed a size 9. I tried a size 9.5 in the Out N About too but those were way too big in the footbed and much too wide in the boot shaft around my ankles; my feet were swimming in them.

Sorel says these boots are best suited for heavy rain and I have to agree with that. These boots are not insulated and even with thick wool socks I personally wouldn’t feel comfortable wearing them out in heavy snow or extremely cold weather. I think you can get away with wearing them in light snow but they’re best for sunny days, rainy days and warmer weather. Basically all seasons except deep winter.

 

I ended up loving these boots so much I actually decided to return both pairs of Target boots.

I adore the casual look of the Out N About boots which in my opinion is a cross between a classic duck boot and a high top sneaker. They’re definitely not as preppy looking as the L.L. Bean duck boots. (I know Bean boots have their origins in hunting and the outdoors but they’ve become so closely associated with preppy fashion.) Sorel’s Out N About is a much more relaxed take on the duck boot trend with its flat heel, low boot shaft and looser fit around the ankles. I also think they’re a lot more versatile. I’ve been wearing them mostly with leggings, cuffed skinny jeans and my Old Navy Pixie pants this winter and they look great. However, I’ve been scrolling through Pinterest and Instagram for style inspiration and I’ve seen several people pairing these boots with shorts and skirts which looks super cute. I’ll definitely be trying those looks for the summer.

The Out N About boots come in several other colors including Elk, a classic duck boot brown color. I was planning on ordering a third pair in Elk since brown is so versatile but the blue Dark Mountain boots, much like blue jeans, pair surprisingly well with a lot of outfits. Between the black and blue boots I feel like all my bases are covered and I don’t really need a brown pair.

Leave a Reply

