Thanksgiving 2016

I hope all my American readers had a great Thanksgiving. Mine went well and I scored some really great Black Friday/Cyber Monday deals which made this Thanksgiving all the sweeter. It seems like a lot of retailers rolled out their promos and sales much earlier this year compared to years past. In fact, some of my orders have shipped or have already arrived at my doorstep.

I really wanted to serve a vegan Thanksgiving meal this year but some people *coughmydadcough* kept complaining about the lack of meat/poultry on the menu, so in the end I served both vegan and non-vegan options. For the omnivores, I made a small roast chicken and for the non-meat eaters I served a vegan loaf made with boiled split green peas (I was out of lentils) sauteed with mushrooms, onions, carrots, spinach, a bit of green bell pepper, and dried cranberries encased in puff pastry. The puff pastry makes it sound and look fancy and complicated but they sell it pre-made at the grocery store in sheets. I just cooked and seasoned the veg separately, dumped that into a puff pastry lined loaf pan and baked the loaf in the oven at 400 for 40 minutes. It was actually super fast and easy.

For side dishes I made a corn bread stuffing with carrots, celery, and onions; sauteed Brussels sprouts with garlic, onion, a bit of carrot with color and bacon; stuffed mushrooms with scallions, green bell peppers, carrots and breadcrumbs; and roasted cauliflower.

There was no pie because I already made some for my Thanksgiving “dress rehearsal” last week when I tried that Trader Joe’s vegan roast (bleh!). If you recall, I made two sweet potato and pumpkin pies then as well as a bread stuffing and a green bean casserole. For actual Thanksgiving I decided to make cream puffs.

