October Favorites

You’ve probably noticed that I haven’t been blogging much lately and that’s mainly because of two reasons: (1) I had family visiting this past month so I couldn’t blog and (2) my makeup routine has remained pretty consistent.

I think I’m in the final round of the purging process and I’ve nearly sold off all the makeup I’d been hoarding and not using. Now I feel like I’ve whittled down my makeup collection to the handful of products that I really love and use. 

Those products include:

L’Oreal Infallible Pro Glow Foundation (#202 Creamy Natural) This is a great, lightweight, liquidy foundation with medium coverage although the finish on my skin is more of a natural matte. If I want to achieve an actual glow I need to load my skincare up with argan oil (4 drops with a pump of moisturizer) prior to applying the foundation.

NYX Gotcha Covered Concealer (Light) I realized as we jumped into fall how important a waterproof concealer really is. The concealer I had been using before I switched back over to the NYX Gotcha Covered was no match against windblown, watery eyes. If you love Tarte’s Maracuja Creaseless Concealer and/or IT Cosmetics’ Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer, then you really need to give this NYX concealer a try. It has slightly less coverage but the finish and formula are so similar. It’s honestly a fantastic drugstore dupe.

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed Eye Brightener (Ivory) Yep, still using it after all these years. Not the same tube obviously but the same product. If you’re a fan of the Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer in Radiant, you owe it to yourself to give the Coastal Scents Bright Eyed a try. In my opinion, it provides nearly the same exact color correcting, brightening effects but the Coastal Scents version is a much better value.

Wet n Wild Color Icon Kohl Eyeliner (Taupe) This particular color has actually been discontinued and reformulated. Wet n Wild still makes a taupe pencil but it’s now a lot warmer and isn’t as ashy as the one I prefer. Luckily, I stocked up.

Up & Up Complexion Brush This is still my favorite brush for applying liquid foundation. In my opinion, it’s better than the Sigma F80/F82 and the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush/Buffing Brush. It’s dense but not too dense so you can still achieve even, full coverage with it but the finish doesn’t look as heavy as it would with the super dense F80/F82 (which really pack product on).

e.l.f. Studio Small Stipple Brush Still my preferred brush for applying liquid and cream blush.

e.l.f. Ultimate Blending Brush Super soft and fluffy brush that’s the perfect size and shape for applying blush, bronzer and powder foundation. This is a great multitasker but a bit difficult to find in stores. I know it’s available online but I would prefer to be able to get it in a store with sales and coupons because it’s fantastic and definitely backup worthy.

Wet n Wild Brush I honestly have no idea what this brush is called. I happened to see it at Dollar Tree one day and decided to pick one up on a whim. I had originally planned on using it for eye shadow which is probably its intended purpose but I’ve actually been using it to blend out my concealer and it’s been working great.

Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer (Bronzer) Best bronzer EVER! However, did anyone else notice that they jacked up the price? It used to be $15.99 at CVS but I was there the other day and noticed the price had jumped to $16.99. What the hell? It hasn’t even been a year since this bronzer was launched! Physicians Formula is regularly on sale at CVS and there are always coupons so it’s not like I’d ever pay full price but still drugstore prices are really getting up there.

bareMinerals Your Highness I believe this particular loose mineral blush actually came in a holiday kit from last year so it might be limited edition. Your Highness is described as an “earthy rose” and has a satin finish. I don’t typically like pink blushes but this one has a good balance of terracotta/peach/brown to it that makes it very neutral and versatile. It works with everything and looks very natural on the cheeks.

NYC Lovatics by Demi Lip & Cheek Tint (Cheeky Red) I still pull this out occasionally but not as often as I did in the summer. I don’t know why but whenever the colder months roll in I set aside the cream/liquid blushes and move over to powder blushes. This specific shade veers orange rather than red.

Soap & Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Gloss Stick (Nudist) Great on its own or on top of another lipstick. As you can see I’ve worn the tip down on mine even though I tried really hard to keep the point. Oh, well. I believe this specific product has been discontinued but Soap & Glory still makes other lip products in this particular shade. What I love about it is the convenience of the chubby pencil, the scent (vanilla), the balmy texture and glossy finish. Unlike their other Sexy Mother Pucker products, this one doesn’t have any lip tingling or plumping ingredients.

Almay Butter Kiss Lipstick (Nude Light-Medium) If you loved the discontinued Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle, do check out this particular shade because the color and formula are nearly identical. It’s a great everyday, neutral lipstick that’s very comfortable to wear.

Urban Decay Vice Lipstick (Sheer Liar) I love the texture which is similar to the Almay and Revlon Lip Butters but I originally wasn’t too fond of the shade; however, it’s grown on me. If I want a pink lip, this is the one I reach for. If you want a cheaper dupe, try the Almay Butter Kiss lipstick in Berry Light-Medium; it’s nearly identical in color but has the tiniest bit of microshimmer.

beautyblender PRO I’ve been using this particular beautyblender for over a year now and it’s really held up well. I’m only now just beginning to see a bit of wear near the tip, so I’ll probably have to replace it soon. I don’t use it to apply my foundation because I use light to medium coverage foundations and I think using a damp beautyblender with them sheers them out too much. Instead I use my beautyblender dry to quickly blot my face after I’ve applied my foundation and concealer to remove any excess product that may have creased or pooled in my pores.

 

Maybelline x Hello Kitty Volum’ Express Cat Eyes Mascara This limited edition, Asia-exclusive mascara came out years ago and has since been discontinued but I stocked up and recently rediscovered a few unopened tubes as I was cleaning out my makeup stash. If you like the Volum’ Express formula you’ll probably like this but it’s really the comb that makes this mascara special. It’s not a natural bristle brush and it’s not made of flexible silicone. Instead it’s a hard plastic comb which I think is pretty unique. Unlike most people, I don’t really care about volume or length in my mascaras. I prefer natural looking lashes and mascaras that provide separation and definition and this one fulfills all of my needs.

Does anyone know of an American mascara that comes with a comb applicator? I know that Maybelline makes Lash Discovery with an itty bitty wand but I believe that’s a brush and the American version of the Volum’ Express Cat Eyes mascara comes with a massive brush. If there isn’t an American equivalent I’ll probably just keep the comb from the Hello Kitty mascara and use it with other mascaras but it would be nice if there’s a drugstore option that I can get my hands on easily.

2 thoughts on “October Favorites

  1. Oh I have the Wet n Wild Taupe of the Mornin… too bad I missed out on the better taupe!
    Rimmel had a mascara that was a comb… trying to remember it. Not sure if it’s still available.

    • Wet n Wild keeps messing with their taupe pencils every few years, going back and forth making them golden or ashy. I wish they would just stick with the ashier taupe because it was perfect.

      I’ll keep an eye out for Rimmel. I haven’t really taken a look at their mascaras in a long time but I remember liking some of them in the past. 😀

Leave a Reply

