L’Oreal Revitalift Bright Reveal Skin Care: Final Thoughts

Almost two months ago I was invited by BzzAgent to try the new L’Oreal Revitalift Bright Reveal collection for free. If you’d more details about the products, pricing as well as my initial thoughts about the skincare line please refer to my First Impressions blog post.

I meant to follow up at the 30-day mark which is when I ran out of the daily Brightening Peel Pads but decided to update the blog whenever the day and night moisturizers ran out instead. However, I didn’t count on the bottles holding so much product because despite using one full pump of the moisturizers each morning and evening for the past 50+ days they’re still going strong and I still haven’t run out of moisturizer. I have no idea if I’m even close to finishing up the bottles because I can’t see inside, so I’m just going to go ahead and share my final thoughts now rather than keep waiting for who knows how long.

As I suspected in my first impressions, while the moisturizers were perfect on my very dry skin type during the hot, humid summer they’re simply not enough now that the weather’s turned colder and drier. I still use a pump of the daytime moisturizer in the morning and one pump of the nighttime moisturizer in the evening but I’ve had to supplement them with one pump of CeraVe moisturizer and 3 drops of argan oil.

The cleanser remains unimpressive. It’s okay but not mind blowing because there are plenty of other drugstore cleansers with a similar gel texture and microbead combination.

The best thing to come out of the collection is, by far, the Brightening Peel Pads and when I ran out of the pads BzzAgent sent me I went to CVS and purchased two more boxes with my own money. That’s how much I love them. Prior to this I was a longtime user of the Paula’s Choice AHA Gel (8% Glycolic Acid) but with a 10% glycolic acid solution the L’Oreal Brightening Peel Pads are a lot more potent and effective. They’re $19.99 per box of 30 pads which seems expensive but using coupons, drugstore sales and rewards I paid about $5 per box which I think is a great deal. The glycolic acid chemically exfoliates the skin while the pads’ textured surface provides some manual exfoliation and the result for me has been visibly smoother skin. I used to have really large pores and some ice pick scars from acne and daily use of the pads has really helped smooth my facial texture a lot. My skin still isn’t perfect but the pads have made a huge difference already and I continue to see results.

In the summertime when my skin didn’t require as much moisture and I was sweating and producing more oil than normal, I could use all the items in the collection as a daily regimen. However, now that it’s colder, I feel that using so many products containing glycolic acid and retinol is overkill. I mentioned in my initial impressions that I was surprised that using the Bright Reveal products didn’t cause any flaking which is my usual experience to retinol. However now that it’s less humid and I’m not sweating or producing as much oil, my skin is flaking so I’ve had to reintroduce the Stridex salicylic acid pads to my routine (because excessive buildup of dry, dead skin clogs my pores and causes breakouts for me). Now that my skin is back to being really dry and lacking in oil, using all four Bright Reveal products daily is simply way too harsh. If you want to add some glycolic acid to your skincare routine, just get the Brightening Peel Pads. They provide more than enough exfoliation. I’ll finish up using what I have left but once I’m done with the bottles of cleanser and moisturizers currently in my possession, that’s it.

Overall the collection is great but the only product that I’ll keep buying is the Brightening Peel Pads. They’re totally worth the money but get them on sale if you can.

2 thoughts on “L’Oreal Revitalift Bright Reveal Skin Care: Final Thoughts

  1. Good to know you find the peel pads more effective than the Paula’s Choice AHA. Have you tried her 10% AHA treatment? I really like that one – it’s potent but I wonder how the cost compares to the peel pads.

    • No, I haven’t tried the 10% AHA treatment but it’s been on my shopping list for ages. I keep meaning to buy it but I still have a couple bottles left of her 8% AHA gel to get through. I’ve heard nothing but raves for it though. I imagine a bottle of the PC 10% treatment would last a long time since iirc it’s supposed to be a weekly treatment.

Leave a Reply

