YouTube Made Me Buy It! Juvia’s Place The Nubian Palette

I had a plan. My plan was to not place any makeup orders online until the Sephora VIB sale in the winter because I have a $50 Sephora gift card and I want to combine it with the $20 off $50 promo that they usually offer at the end of the year. I’m saving my gift card for two of the Viseart Theory Palettes. I know that Frends Beauty has Viseart on sale right now and I could get the Theory palettes there but I’ll get a bigger discount if I wait for the Sephora sale and I’m okay with waiting.

However, I’ve been watching YouTube and Jennifer Wan’s been raving about The Nubian palettes on her channel in several of her recent videos which got me interested. But whenever I checked the Juvia’s Place website The Nubian palette was out of stock, so I signed up to be notified when it was restocked but literally every time I got an email that it was back in stock it sold out in minutes. They’re a small company so I suppose that’s understandable that they can’t meet the demand but I think that happened to me at least 3 times which was really annoying. I was able to place an order eventually and after taxes and shipping I ended up paying about $30.

In hindsight I’m not sure why I bought the palette. Actually, that’s a lie, I do know. The swatches looked great and I got caught up in the limited quantity frenzy. Honestly, though, if you’ve been following my blog then you know that these colors are not only way too warm but too dark for my tastes. I always gravitate towards really light, neutral leaning cool shades. So now, despite how beautiful it looks, I’m here with a palette that I’m not going to use.

For those who’ve never heard of Juvia’s Place, their palettes have been all over Instagram and YouTube. As far as I know, Juvia’s Place is a small, indie, black-owned company and lots of bloggers/vloggers, especially those within the POC/WOC beauty communities, have been raving about and promoting their eye shadow palettes. A simple Google image search should produce tons of impressive looking swatch photos.

I literally received the Juvia’s Place The Nubian palette in the mail less than 30 minutes ago and I’m putting it up on my blog sale brand new in box, unswatched. The palette’s out of stock on the Juvia’s Place website once again, so if you’re interested head on over to my blog sale page. I’m charging what I paid for it. SOLD.

ETA: I ended up repurchasing the palette, so if you’re interested in seeing swatches you can view them here.

One thought on “YouTube Made Me Buy It! Juvia’s Place The Nubian Palette

  1. I saw this on IG and I wanted it too. Never even heard of this brand! The power of social media… but you’re right, this is too dark for me too.
    I’m planning on getting the Viseart palettes during the Sephora VIB sale this year too. Can’t wait!

Comments are closed.