NYC Lovatics by Demi Lip & Cheek Tint – Cheeky Pink & Cheeky Red

NYC Lovatics by Demi Lip & Cheek Tint – Cheeky Pink & Cheeky Red

Ever since NouveauCheap posted about NYC shutting down their various social media channels the other day, people within the beauty community have been in a mild panic. I say mild because NYC isn’t a super popular brand, so they’re not going to get the type of reaction that a brand like Revlon or Maybelline would if they closed their Twitter or Facebook pages.

Although NYC is a lesser known brand there are some cult favorites such as the Sunny bronzer, Sheer Red and Retro Red lipsticks but otherwise NYC has pretty much flown under the radar all these years. Personally, I’ve always loved their In a Minute Quick Dry nail polishes and I’ve mentioned them quite a lot on my blog in the past. So, of course, I was caught up in the frenzy wondering whether or not NYC is closing shop for good or if they’re just rebranding and preparing for a relaunch soon.

I’ve been faithful to their nail polishes but I really haven’t looked at any of NYC’s makeup products in a long time. If the brand’s indeed being discontinued I figured now’s as good a time as any to finally get around to trying the NYC items that I kept putting off. I’ve been really curious about the Lovatics by Demi Lip & Cheek Tints ever since I saw EmilyNoel83 review them on her channel, so I purchased two shades from Walmart for $3.57 each.

NYC Cheeky Pink

If you’ve ever tried Benefit Benetint then the NYC Lovatics by Demi Lip & Cheek Tints will seem really familiar. They all come in small glass bottles with plastic, screw-on caps and brush applicators that are very reminiscent of traditional nail polish bottles. However, unlike the rose scented Benetint, the NYC cheek stains are fragrance free.

The consistency of the NYC stains is very thin, watery and transparent, much like Benefit Benetint and not like the creamier, thicker, opaque Benefit Cha Cha Tint and Posie Tint.

After I brought the NYC tints home I realized that they’re identical in almost every single aspect to the lip & cheek stains I got from Born Pretty Store awhile back. Not only are the bottles and applicators nearly the same but the formulas feel the same too. Both the NYC lip & cheek tints and the Born Pretty Store stains are made in China, so there’s a good chance that they all came from the same factory. At $2.99 a pop, the Born Pretty Store stains are slightly cheaper but perform exactly the same.

Clockwise from top left: NYC Cheeky Pink, NYC Cheeky Red, Born Pretty Store stain #06, Born Pretty Store stain #04

Clockwise from top left: NYC Cheeky Pink, NYC Cheeky Red, Born Pretty Store stain #06, Born Pretty Store stain #04

 

NYC Cheeky Pink, NYC Cheeky Red, Born Pretty Store stain #04, Born Pretty Store stain #06

The two NYC stains I purchased are Cheeky Pink, a bright bubblegum pink that reminds me of the BECCA Lychee Beach Tint in terms of color, and Cheek Red, which is surprisingly more of an orange than a red. I love orange blushes so that’s cool with me. The two Born Pretty stains I own are more reddish in comparison, so no dupes.

One thing to note if you’re interested in purchasing any of these stains is that they set and stain very quickly so I wouldn’t recommend applying them directly onto your cheeks with the brush that comes with the bottle. It’s better to dab some of the product onto a makeup palette so you can then pick up the product up using a brush, such as the e.l.f. Small Stipple Brush, and then apply the stain onto your cheeks. You’ll get a much more even application that way. The stains work well on lips too but I tend to use products like this mostly on my cheeks. Personal preference.

The NYC stains go on really sheer but build very easily. Cheeky Pink and Cheeky Red appear to be the sheerest and palest out of the four cheek tints that NYC offers. I believe the other two stains are darker red and berry shades. I knew that before I made my purchase but those two colors appealed to me the most. The Born Pretty Store stains that I own have better color payoff but I think that’s mainly because those two colors are darker than Cheeky Pink and Cheeky Red; they still have that same sheer, watery, buildable quality that the NYC stains possess.

For stains, I still prefer the BECCA Beach Tints. I think those are more user friendly because they don’t set as quickly, so I can apply them directly to my cheeks and I have more time to work with them on my face. But if you’re strapped for cash and don’t mind a slightly more finicky product, the NYC stains are a good alternative to the BECCA Beach Tints and Benefit cheek stains. If you’ve been eyeing BECCA Lychee in particular, NYC Cheeky Pink is definitely a more affordable option.

Leave a Reply

