Wet n Wild 1 Step WonderGel Nail Color – Crime of Passion

It’s been awhile since I’ve purchased a Wet n Wild nail polish or any nail polish for that matter but curiosity got the better of me and I decided to try one of their new 1 Step WonderGel Nail Colors ($4.99 each). I’m always drawn to reds and oranges, especially those that come in a creme finish, so Crime of Passion really spoke to me.

Admittedly, I had my doubts about the WonderGel formula. I’ve never been very impressed with the nail polishes Wet n Wild’s had to offer even though I owned quite a few of their Wild Shine, MegaLast and Fast Dry polishes in the past. All I can say is that they release interesting limited edition colors on occasion and they’re alwasy a cheap thrill.

The new WonderGel nail formula, however, is GREAT! It’s opaque in one pass, glides on so easily, smooths and levels itself out with no streaking, dries relatively quickly, and wears so nicely!

I gravitated towards Crime of Passion because of the beautiful cherry red shade and also because it was the perfect color to sport on my nails for the Fourth of July. Of course there’s been some edge wear as should be expected but I’ve been wearing Crime of Passion since a few days before Independence Day and it’s just now starting to do really chip. I couldn’t be bothered with a top coat this time, so over a week on its own is pretty amazing.


The WonderGel brush puts me mind of the Sally Hansen Complete Salon brush in that they’re both rather wide and thick.

The Sally Hansen brush is more rounded compared to the WonderGel brush and is more tapered along the sides which gives it a thicker, fluffier aspect. I’ve personally never been fond of the Sally Hansen brush; it feels so bulky, thick and awkward in my opinion. The WonderGel brush, although similar, is a lot better. I like how it lays flatter against the nail when I sweep the brush across the surface of a nail and I feel like I have more control with it than with the Sally Hansen brush.

