Miscellaneous Swatches – e.l.f., Make Up For Ever, bareMinerals

Make Up For Ever Artist Palette Vol. 1, e.l.f. Brownie Points

Here are a few random swatch pics I found sitting on my computer from way back. I suppose at some point in time I had planned on writing up a blog post but for one reason or another never got around to it.

I remember wanting to do some swatch comparisons of the MUFE Artist Palette Vol. 1 with a few other eye shadows in my stash. As you can see I took product pics indoors but I distinctly remember holding off on swatching certain shadows because it was raining outside at the time and I prefer natural daylight outdoors when I do swatches. Things slip my mind really easily so by the time it stopped raining I must have forgotten about doing swatches. Sigh. I remember that it rained or was at least downcast for over a week back then. That’s my only excuse.

Nevertheless I want to share the photos that I have. They may not be as comprehensive or as high in quality as I would’ve liked but I think they may still prove useful to some.

Make Up For Ever I-544, e.l.f. Cruisin’ Chic

The e.l.f. Smudge Pots ($3 each) were an awesome find. Considering how dirt cheap they are, I didn’t expect them to perform so well.

The formula’s fantastic: thin but creamy, super blendable, highly pigmented, and totally budge-proof. In fact, I like them way more than Maybelline’s Color Tattoos which feel thicker and heavier on the skin and dry out pretty quickly in their pots, especially the matte shades. In contrast, my e.l.f. Smudge Pot in Cruisin’ Chic which I’ve owned for months is still as creamy as when I first purchased it.

e.l.f. Smudge Pot Cruisin’ Chic, e.l.f. Smudge Pot Brownie Points

I absolutely love Crusin’ Chic! It’s the perfect multi-dimensional, metallic taupe that’s great for a one shadow look. On the lids it shows up like a silvery taupe but blended out in the crease it appears a deeper brown.

When I first got it I decided to swatch it next to I-544, the center shadow in the bottom row of the MUFE Artist Vol. 1 palette. If you read my review then you know I wasn’t impressed with the MUFE palette but I still expected it to do okay next to the e.l.f. shadow. I didn’t expect the e.l.f. shadow to totally kick the MUFE shadow’s butt. e.l.f. Cruisin’ Chic is so metallic and pigmented compared to the sheer blah-ness of MUFE I-544 and it’s one of the main reasons I decided to purge the MUFE palette.

e.l.f. Smudge Pot Cruisin’ Chic, e.l.f. Smudge Pot Brownie Points

The second reason I decided to kick the MUFE palette out of my stash was also because of an e.l.f. Smudge Pot. After the overwhelming success of Crusin’ Chic I decided to go with Brownie Points, a coppery brown that sometimes looks more red, sometimes more brown depending on the lighting.

I fully intended on swatching Brownie Points next to D-652, the bottom right shade in the MUFE palette because side by side in the pan/pot, they look identical. On the skin, though, is where they differ. D-652 was one of the better, more pigmented shades in the palette but it pales in comparison next to Brownie Points which is so much more opaque and intense. The colors are so similar but I prefer the finish of the e.l.f. shadow which is more uniform and metallic versus the chunkier shimmer of the MUFE shadow. Brownie Points (and D-652) is a bit dark for my personal taste (I prefer lighter, brighter neutrals/nudes) but if you want a coppery brown, go with the e.l.f. shadow. In my opinion it’s what MUFE D-652 aspires to be.

Make Up For Ever Artist Palette Vol. 1, bareMinerals Bahamas, bareMinerals Vanilla Sugar, bareMinerals Brown Sugar, bareMinerals Sex Kitten

I never got around to swatching my bareMinerals loose shadows alongside the MUFE Artist palette but I did manage to capture the bareMinerals shadows on their own.

As I hope you can see, the four bareMinerals shadows that I own are all highly pigmented. Bahamas, Vanilla Sugar and Brown Sugar are right up my alley. I can appreciate Sex Kitten; it’s incredibly pigmented and saturated in color but too dark and reddish for my taste. It’s gorgeous though, right? It’s the type of color that I know plenty of other people would love.

bareMinerals Bahamas, bareMinerals Vanilla Sugar, bareMinerals Brown Sugar, bareMinerals Sex Kitten

bareMinerals Bahamas, bareMinerals Vanilla Sugar, bareMinerals Brown Sugar, bareMinerals Sex Kitten

Leave a Reply

