Some Ciate Smokey Suedes Swatch Comparisons

Ciate’s Smokey Suedes is a wonderful palette and I still highly recommend it but when I realized I was only reaching for certain shades over and over again, I decided to let it go. The colors are gorgeous, the textures of the shadows are smooth and lovely, the packaging is compact, sturdy and chic but the three lighter, shimmery neutral shades (Shaken, Glazed, Prosecco) were the standouts for me. Makeup-wise it was one of the hardest decisions I’ve ever had to make but in the end I decided to let go of the palette.

But before I purged the palette I swatched the three Ciate shadows against some of the other shimmery, neutral shades I have in my stash.

Top row: Ciate Shaken, Ciate Glazed, Ciate Prosecco, bareMinerals Schmooze, bareMinerals Libation
Middle row: bareMinerals Bahamas, bareMinerals Vanilla Sugar, bareMinerals Brown Sugar
Bottom row: Physicians Formula Custom Nude Palette (Natural Nude)

Sadly, I wasn’t able to dupe any of the Ciate Smokey Suedes colors but swatching my stash made me realize how great the loose bareMinerals eye shadows are.

After the holidays I had picked up several bareMinerals sets when they were on sale and a couple of the sets included loose shadows. I know people love bareMinerals’ loose shadows and some shades like Celestine, Queen Phyllis and Nude Beach have a cult following but I’ve never been interested in them because they seem so messy. I’ve always gone for the pressed bareMinerals READY shadows which are fantastic and easy to apply.

I had completely forgotten that I even had these loose shadows in my stash until recently but then decided to crack them open for a little swatch fest and, wow, now I get the hype. Mary Lovetart who I follow on YouTube has mentioned and raved about bareMinerals Bahamas several times before and she was one of the reasons I bought one of the sets I did when I saw Bahamas was inlcuded. It’s a high shine, pink champagne that has great color payoff and looks beautiful all over the lid. Vanilla Sugar is another beautiful shimmery shade that’s nicely pigmented but with a slightly subtler shine. And Brown Sugar is a great netural brown with a hint of shimmer. I love them all and now I want to try more.

They are messy — I wish the sifter jars had a twist and lock mechanism like their mineral powder foundation to prevent the powder from getting everywhere — but the shadows themselves are really, really great.

I originally thought I’d find at least one dupe among the Physicians Formula Natural Nude palette but nope. I only swatched the bottom two rows because the top half contains mostly whitish pink shades that were clearly not a match. However, the bottom two rows turned out to be much warmer or more bronzey or brassy than the shades in the Ciate palette.

Top row: Ciate Shaken, Ciate Glazed, Ciate Prosecco, bareMinerals Schmooze, bareMinerals Libation
Middle row: bareMinerals Bahamas, bareMinerals Vanilla Sugar, bareMinerals Brown Sugar
Bottom row: Physicians Formula Custom Nude Palette (Natural Nude)

One thought on “Some Ciate Smokey Suedes Swatch Comparisons

  1. I’ve been eyeing the Ciate palette but after hearing that you only reach for 3 shades, I can see myself doing the same thing. I know my comfort zone are neutrals and I likely DO have dupes in my collection for them!
    I haven’t gotten into BM loose shadows because they’re so messy! I ordered a bunch of mineral shadows from Fyrinnae and while they’re gorgeous, I rarely use them due to the mess factor. Perhaps I should press them?

Leave a Reply

