Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer

Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer – 02 Natural Beige

I just wanted to share a concealer I’ve really been enjoying lately: Nature Republic’s Green Tea Dual Concealer ($14.90). I purchased it over a month ago and mentioned it in a previous blog post and it’s basically been all I’ve been using since.

Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer – 02 Natural Beige

For the past few years the concealer I’ve been using almost exclusively has been IT Cosmetics’ Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer, and prior to that Tarte’s Maracuja Creaseless Concealer, mainly for the moisturizing factor and hydrated looking finish. My skin is extremely dry and heavier cream concealers seem to work and look the best on my particular skin type. Although I’d love to be able to use lightweight liquid concealers, especially some of those new serum type concealers, they tend to emphasize my fine lines and usually aren’t moisturizing enough. Even though I use a lot of cream concealers that come in squeeze tubes such as the Tarte Maracuja and IT Cosmetics concealers, my favorite types of concealers are actually stick concealers because of how quick and convenient they are. Simply swipe on and blend. Easy peasy.

I think I’ve tried just about every drugstore stick concealer available and out of all of them my favorite is CoverGirl’s CG Smoothers concealer because it’s creamy and offers a decent amount of coverage (light to medium) and moisture. Other drugstore stick concealers are either too mattifying, too drying, too waxy or too stiff. The main downside with the CG Smoothers concealer is the coverage. If you only have minor dark circles, it should be sufficient but for me it doesn’t have as much coverage as I’d like.

Enter the Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer which has much better coverage than the CG Smoothers, is lightweight, has a rather natural looking finish that isn’t too drying, and has that convenience factor that I adore in stick concealers.

Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer 02 Natural Beige – Stick, Liquid

The concealer is available in two shades, 01 Light Beige and 02 Natural Beige. I own the darker 02 Natural Beige shade which is more peachy compared with the 01 Light Beige which leans more pink. In the past I gravitated towards pink-based concealers because my dark circles used to be primarily brown but recently I feel like my under eyes have started to look more purple so I’ve been shifting to peachier concealers and correctors.

I think the Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer is reasonably priced. For $14.90 you get two concealers in one: a 0.15 oz stick concealer and a 0.11 oz liquid concealer. For comparison, a 0.14 oz CoverGirl stick concealer retails for $7.99.

Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer – 02 Natural Beige (liquid)

Nature Republic recommends using the liquid concealer for “natural coverage on wide areas” and the stick concealer to “[cover] spot areas” but I’ve been using both together on my dark circles primarily and the combination’s been working well for me.

Both ends of the Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer have a very subtle floral scent. I’m not a fan of fragrance in face products but this one’s barely there and it fades away pretty quickly after application. I don’t find it bothersome at all.

Between the two, the liquid half of the Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer offers less coverage which I’d say is on the lighter side of medium. It has a creamy liquid consistency that’s thicker and more emollient than I expected, almost a bit mousse-y. I had expected it to be really thin, drying and mattifying but it’s actually pretty creamy with a very natural looking finish. Worn alone on my under eye area, the liquid concealer looks a bit ashy but that’s because the tone isn’t quite right to combat the purple in my dark circles. It does, however, work great on my eyelids to cover up my brown hyperpigmentation and on other areas of my face. It creases a tiny bit right beneath my lash line but nothing major.

Note: Please excuse any random brow hairs in the photos below. I’m currently growing out my brows and trying to avoid the temptation of tweezing which leaves me looking a bit unkempt.

Bare eyes

Bare eyes, Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer 02 Natural Beige (liquid)

Bare eyes, Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer 02 Natural Beige (liquid)

Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer – 02 Natural Beige (liquid)


The stick concealer half of the Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer is what I’m really loving. It has more coverage than the liquid concealer which I’d categorize as medium plus. You can build it up a bit past medium but I wouldn’t go so far as to call it full coverage. The color’s a lot peachier than most of the stick concealers I’ve used in the past so it acts like a corrector and concealer in one. It’s fantastic at neutralizing the purple in my dark circles and also the brown in my eyelids.

The consistency is quite nice in my opinion. It’s not overly creamy where it slips, slides and creases like crazy in the under eye area but it’s not so stiff and waxy that it tugs or skips when I try to apply it. The concealer is a good in between texture: lightweight and firm enough to stay in place where I swipe it on but smooth and creamy enough to glide right on.

Whereas the liquid concealer has a more natural skin finish, the stick concealer is definitely more of a matte finish. Luckily it’s a soft matte and not too harsh, powdery or cakey in appearance. I notice a tiny bit of creasing with it right underneath my lash line but again nothing major (i.e. nothing like the Maybelline Dream Mousse Concealer, one of the all-time worst concealers I’ve ever used).

Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer 02 Natural Beige (stick)

Bare eyes

Bare eye, Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer 02 Natural Beige (stick)

Bare eye, Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer 02 Natural Beige (stick)

Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer 02 Natural Beige (stick)


As I mentioned earlier, I’ve been wearing the Nature Republic concealer everyday since I bought it and how I like to use it is I apply two quick swipes of the stick concealer on my under eye area, tap it into my skin, then apply two or three tiny dots of the liquid concealer on top and blend. Then I go about the rest of my makeup routine (i.e. blush, bronzer, lips, brows, etc.). By the time I’ve finished doing the rest of my face, the concealers will have set and any creasing will have occurred. At this point I go in with a dry beautyblender sponge and gently blot away any concealer that’s settled into my creases. My skin is so dry that I never set my concealer or makeup with powder, and I find that simply blotting with a dry sponge is enough.

The stick concealer provides the majority of the coverage and corrects the purple of my dark circles. The liquid concealer brightens, adds a bit more coverage, and its more emollient formula softens the matte finish of the stick concealer leaving the area looking a bit more skin-like and natural. Creasing is minimal and in my opinion the concealers actually look better together than either half of the Dual Concealer worn alone. It’s almost as if the stick concealer acts like a primer for the liquid concealer to help lock it in place.

If you’re wondering, I’ve tried applying the liquid concealer first and then topping it with the stick concealer but the stick concealer doesn’t glide easily over the more emollient liquid concealer.

All in all, I really like this concealer. The coverage isn’t mind blowing — only medium — but I love the ease of use, the thinner consistency and the finish. Concealers like Tarte Maracuja Creaseless and IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye may be fuller coverage and I still really like and recommend them but I’m kind of over how heavy and thick they feel on the skin.

Bare eye, Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer 02 Natural Beige (stick + liquid)

Bare eye, Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer 02 Natural Beige (stick + liquid)

Nature Republic Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer 02 Natural Beige (stick + liquid)

Leave a Reply

