Almay Butter Kiss Lipstick in Nude Light-Medium & Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

Almay Butter Kiss Lipstick in Nude Light-Medium & Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

The other day I was cleaning out my closet and rediscovered my Revlon Pink Truffle Lip Butter, which I’d thought I’d lost, in an unused makeup pouch in an empty suitcase.

I started using Pink Truffle again and it just reminded me of how much I loved it. I’m sure I’ve mentioned it once or twice on the blog as one of my favorite MLBB lipsticks.  However, using it again, I also realized how similar it is to another lipstick in my current makeup rotation: Almay’s Butter Kiss Lipstick in Nude Light-Medium. Both are fantastic lipsticks but between the two I prefer the Almay version.

Almay Butter Kiss Lipstick in Nude Light-Medium & Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

Almay Butter Kiss Lipstick in Nude Light-Medium & Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

Almay and Revlon are sister companies, so it should come as no surprise that the packaging and formulas of the two lipsticks are nearly identical. I feel like Almay gets a bad rap and is often overlooked even though they have some pretty good products. I suppose it’s because their line mostly stays the same which is probably “boring” to the makeup junkie whereas Revlon, their flashier and more exciting sister, often comes out with new products and limited edition collections to keep people interested.

If you already use and love the Revlon Lip Butters then you should definitely check out the Almay Butter Kiss Lipsticks, especially the shade Nude Light-Medium. First, because it’s a great product. But, second, because Revlon has a tendency of discontinuing their products. Fig Jam, Red Velvet, Tutti Frutti and Sugar Plum were some of my favorite Lip Butter shades but they were all nixed by Revlon last year. On the plus side, the Almay Butter Kiss Lipsticks that were (coincidentally?) introduced last year contain several similar, dupe-y shades in the their line which leads me to believe that the Revlon Lip Butter are being gradually phased out in favor of the Almay Butter Kiss Lipsticks. That actually doesn’t bother me because I think the Almay Butter Kiss Lipstick formula is a better, upgraded version of the Revlon Lip Butters.

The issue I have with the Revlon Lip Butters is that they’re a bit too soft which means they apply unevenly and patchy and can sometimes travel outside the lip lines and look a bit messy. The Almay Butter Kiss Lipsticks provide the same amount of glossy shine as the Lip Butters which I love but they’re just the tiniest bit firmer, so they apply more evenly and stay in place better.

I wanted to mention the Butter Kiss shade Nude Light-Medium in particular because it’s super similar in color to Revlon’s Pink Truffle which I know is a favorite neutral MLBB lipstick of many people. The only differences between the two are the textures which I’ve already mentioned and the Almay is a bit peachier whereas Revlon Pink Truffle is a little pinker/rosier. On my lips, though, they look pretty much identical.

If Revlon ever decides to discontinue Pink Truffle, it should be some comfort to know you won’t have to look too far for something similar.

Bare lips

Almay Butter Kiss Lipstick in Nude Light-Medium

Bare lips & Almay Butter Kiss Lipstick in Nude Light-Medium

2 thoughts on “Almay Butter Kiss Lipstick in Nude Light-Medium & Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

  1. Oh I didn’t know that Revlon discontinued Tutti Frutti and Sugar Plum! 😦
    Pink Truffle is my favourite Revlon lip butter and I pretty much owned them all. I’ve not given the Almay ones a second glance (because as you said, the boring sister) but I will look for this Nude Light-Medium shade! 🙂

    • Yeah, Tutti Frutti and Sugar Plum were two of my favorites but I’ve heard they’ve been spotted at Big Lots for a couple of bucks.
      Nude Light-Medium’s a little peachier but it’s pretty much interchangeable for me with Pink Truffle. They’re really quite similar imo.

Comments are closed.