Small bareMinerals Haul – Work, Weekend, Wow & Obsessed With Nudes

Work, Weekend, Wow & Obsessed With Nudes

I’m proud of myself. Sephora’s recent sale didn’t tempt me at all. Admittedly there were a few items I had my eyes on but 15% off just barely covered tax, so the discount wasn’t really worthwhile in my opinion. Instead I picked up a few bareMinerals sets that had been on my wish list for awhile.

I purchased the Work, Weekend, Wow kit direct from bareMinerals when they had a flash sale and the Obsessed With Nudes kit from QVC.

bareMinerals Work, Weekend, Wow

bareMinerals Work, Weekend, Wow

bareMinerals Work, Weekend, Wow

bareMinerals Obsessed With Nudes

bareMinerals Obsessed With Nudes

bareMinerals Obsessed With Nudes

bareMinerals Trail Blazer, Take Charge, Rule Breaker, Luscious Coconut

For the longest time I’ve stayed away from bareMinerals lip products despite all the positive reviews their Marvelous Moxie lip glosses and lipsticks get. One sniff is all it takes to know that they contain peppermint and personally I’m not too fond of minty lip products. However, Jennifer Wan on YouTube showed off the Obsessed With Nudes kit in one of her haul videos and it really appealed to me. She managed to get it on major discount after the holidays but I think it was limited edition and the only place that still carries the kit is QVC except at full price. I got it anyway mostly for the Lip Quickie Glossy stick and lipstick.

I have to say I love the bareMinerals Lip Quickie Glossy in Luscious Coconut. It’s a sheer, glossy, shimmer-free, nude MLBB (my lips but better) type of shade with a smooth, comfortable formula that’s right up my alley. However, after swatching my lipstick collection I realized that it’s nearly identical in color to my Soap & Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Gloss Stick in Nudist which is probably my holy grail lip color. The main differences between the two products is Nudist is glossier, denser/creamier in texture, vanilla scented and contains 3x the amount of product (0.09 oz versus the 0.03 oz of the bareMinerals Lip Quickie Glossy). Great product but you don’t get a lot of it.

The Take Charge lipstick is a shimmer-free, rosy nude that has a really creamy, smooth texture and very good color payoff. I see now why so many people rave about the Marvelous Moxie formula. However, it’s rosier than I’d hoped for (I prefer peachier nudes) and just a little too opaque for my tastes. I have a lot of lip lines naturally and I think sheerer lipsticks are more flattering on me. But if you want high pigmentation and a comfortable formula, definitely check out the Marvelous Moxie lipsticks.

Rule Breaker is one of those universal, anywhere, anytime type of glosses. It’s a sheer, nearly clear, subtly pearly, champagne nude gloss that can be worn on its own or as a topper for any lipstick or lip liner.

The Work, Weekend, Wow kit that I bought also includes the same Take Charge lipstick that’s in the Obsessed With Nudes kit. I don’t need two of the same lipstick so I plan on putting the spare on my blog sale along with Liberated, the rosy pink lip liner. I never use lip liners, so it’s kind of wasted on me and I didn’t bother swatching it.

The main reason I decided to get the Work, Weekend, Wow kit was for the Trail Blazer lip gloss. bareMinerals describes Trail Blazer as a nude gold but on me it’s more of a sheer, pale cantaloupe shade with a subtle shimmer. I love the color! This was the first time I tried a Marvelous Moxie lip gloss and I’d say it’s creamy with a very thick/dense texture that’s almost, but not quite, sticky. It’s the kind of gloss that you put on and know it’s going to hang around on your lips for a good long while.

bareMinerals Trail Blazer, Take Charge, Rule Breaker, Luscious Coconut

Bare lips

bareMinerals Take Charge

Top row: Clinique Curviest Caramel, Revlon Honey Bare, bareMinerals Take Charge, Soap & Glory Nudist, Almay Nude Light-Medium
Bottom row: Sonia Kashuk Nirvana, Sally Hansen Health Nut, Sally Hansen Pumped Up Plum, Revlon Pink Truffle

