Nature Republic Haul

If you’re into Korean cosmetics and live in the metro NY area, you might be interested to know that a Nature Republic store opened recently in Flushing, Queens. It’s right on Main Street just a couple of doors down from the New World Mall and about a block away from the Flushing library.

I stepped in to take a look around and only came away with a few makeup items although they have a lot to offer in the way of nail polish, skin care and facial sheet masks if that’s more your speed. The great thing about Nature Republic, and most Asian cosmetics stores in my experience, is the availability of testers and how generous they are with samples when you make a purchase. The price range of their products also seems quite reasonable. I believe everything I looked at in the store was under $20 and they had several promo offers (e.g. Buy 1 Get 1 Free regular hand lotions, Buy 10 Get 4 Free sheet masks).

I purchased the following:

  1. Botanical Cream Concealer in 23 Natural Beige – $10.90
  2. Botanical Green Tea Dual Concealer in 02 Natural Beige – $14.90
  3. Natural Butter Lip Balm in  02 Strawberry – $6.90
  4. Natural Butter Lip Balm in 03 Grapefruit – $6.90
  5. Sweet Jelly Gloss – $4.90 (my receipt doesn’t list the flavor and everything on the lip gloss tube’s in Korean but I think it’s supposed to be Grapefruit.) 

The concealers are only available in two shades and I chose the darker shade in both. I consider my dark circles pretty bad and, as far as under eye concealers go, I’ve found that concealers that are just slightly darker than my skin tone offer better coverage than ones that match my skin tone exactly.

The lip balms are limited edition items featuring members of the currently 9-member (formerly 12-member) K-pop boy band EXO. I’m not exactly an EXO fan. I know who they are and, shockingly, I know all of their names, even the ones who bounced. I’m familiar with their music and I think some of their songs are catchy but I’m too old to be a fangirl. However, I love sheer, tinted balms, the packaging’s super cute and the price is good. Naturally, being a fan of all things orange, I gravitated towards the orange tinted balm which features the EXO member D.O. I also decided to get the red balm which, unfortunately, features my least favorite EXO member, Chanyeol. At least D.O. can sing. I don’t consider what Chanyeol does as rapping. Strangely, I hear that he’s pretty popular with Chinese fans.

The EXO lip balms and hand creams are limited edition. They had boxed sets of all nine flavors of the EXO lip balms for $62 as well as boxed sets of the EXO hand creams but I’m not sure how much the latter costs.

2 thoughts on “Nature Republic Haul

  1. Just had to comment “lol” on your mini EXO rant. I think Chanyeol’s personality is what makes him popular rather than his talent. At the same time, his personality turns a lot of people off.

    • lol. Sorry about that. I wasn’t going to say anything at all but I couldn’t help myself. It just bugs me that one of the nicer lip balm colors had to be the one with him on it. Something about him just rubs me the wrong way.

Comments are closed.