Girl Scouts Cookie Time!

Girl Scouts Cookies

I’ve been trying to avoid going to the mall for the past few weeks knowing that it’s that time of the year again — Girl Scouts cookie time — because even though it’s for a good cause, $4 for a single box of cookies isn’t cheap and you can get cheaper dupes for a lot of their cookies (e.g. Thin Mints, Samoas/Caramel-delites, Peanut Butter Patties/Tagalongs) at the grocery store year round. I only splurge when I accidentally run into a troop selling cookies and the temptation proves to be too much and/or if they release a new flavor. There’s always a local troop camped out at the mall around this time of year and I always fall victim to them. I thought I’d be safe this year by skipping the mall entirely…but then they got me at Walmart unexpectedly.

I ended up going with a box of Savannah Smiles (my favorite ever since they introduced it in 2012 and something I haven’t found a comparable dupe of yet) and a box of the gluten-free Toffee-tastic cookies which are new to me. I believe the latter were introduced last year with the Rah-Rah Raisins and Cranberry Citrus Crisps. I still haven’t found a local troop that carries the Cranberry Citrus Crisps or the new Trios (chocolate chip peanut butter oatmeal cookies). Maybe next year.

Girl Scouts Savannah Smiles

Girl Scouts Toffee-tastic

Girl Scouts Toffee-tastic

14 cookies come in a single sleeve which isn’t a lot unfortunately and the cookies themselves are on the smallish size (about the size of Famous Amos chocolate chip cookies that come in a box if you’re familiar with those).

I would describe the Toffee-tastic cookies as primarily a buttery, firmer than typical shortbread cookie with hard, brittle nuggets of toffee (e.g. Heath and Skor candy bars). Honestly, the texture was a bit jarring the first time I bit into one because I didn’t expect those hard bits hidden inside the crumbly shortbread cookie. I think people are either going to love or hate the consistency. The taste, however, is quite good in my opinion. The combination of toffee and butter flavors reminds me a lot of the Pepperidge Farm Chessman cookies which were my personal favorite Pepperidge Farm cookies as a kid. If you love those then I think you’ll love how these taste too. They’re also not super sweet which is what I prefer in a cookie. Personally, I love them and I think they may be my new favorite Girl Scouts cookie. The hard toffee bits took a bit getting used to but after the first two cookies I got over it and the flavor’s great! The buttery flavor gives these cookies a richer, more decadent feel versus the Rah Rah Raisins I tried last year which were drier, harder and had more of a “healthy” or low-cal cookie feel if that makes sense.

Girl Scouts Toffee-tastic

Girl Scouts Toffee-tastic

