Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons Eye Shadow Collection

I didn’t originally plan on getting the Too Face Chocolate Bon Bons palette ($49). I’m strictly a neutral gal at heart, so the fuchsia, blue and purple shades were kind of a turn off for me. But when I saw swatches popping up all over the internet I knew I had to have it.

I owned Too Faced’s original Chocolate Bar and Boudoir Eyes palettes in the past but have since gotten rid of both. The former leaned a bit too dark and red for me, the latter had several lighter cool neutrals that I liked but also several smokey shades that I could’ve done without. This new Bon Bons palette, though, if you ignore the fuchsia, blue and purple shades has a better array of lighter colors that are, in my opinion, much more neutral compared to the reddish browns in the original Chocolate Bar palette, the rather warm toned Semi-Sweet palette and the cooler Boudoir Eyes palette.

If you’re like me and dismissed the Bon Bons palette because it seemed a bit too colorful at first glance, you might want to give it a second look. It’s a pretty good palette that I think most neutral lovers would appreciate.

The Chocolate Bon Bons eye shadows are housed in a tin case with a magnetic closure that seems to have become the standard for all Too Faced palettes now that they’ve phased out the cardboard packaging. I’m not a huge fan of Too Faced’s tin packaging in general. They’re cute but the magnets that keeps the palettes shut never feel secure to me. I know that in the past when I’ve reached into my makeup drawer to blindly grab for my Chocolate Bar palette that the case has swung open accidentally on several occasions. Personally, I wouldn’t feel comfortable traveling with a Too Faced palette in my luggage or carry-on.

I’ve seen a few reviews complaining about the size of the Bon Bons eye shadows but don’t let the cute heart shaped shadows fool you. They may look smaller than the average round, square or rectangle shaped eye shadows but the amount of product you get in the Chocolate Bon Bons palette is actually exactly the same as the amount of product you get in Too Faced’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar palette. The 14 smaller heart shaped eye shadows are 0.03 oz and the larger rectangular pans contain 0.07 oz of product.

The Bon Bons eye shadows have a traditional powder formula, as opposed to a hybrid powder cream gelee formula like NARS Dual Intensity, Laura Geller Baked Gelato and MAC Extra Dimension that have become popular as of late. Compared to other traditional powder eye shadows, the Bon Bons are a little drier and firmer which in my experience is typical of Too Faced shadows. They’re definitely not as soft and buttery as the LORAC PRO shadows but I actually like that because I have issues with the PRO shadows being too loose, too powdery and creating a lot of fallout. The Bon Bons hold together better yet aren’t stiff, so application is much easier with hardly any fallout.

Pigmentation across the board isn’t mind blowing but still very good. The only shade that’s a bit lacking in payoff compared to the rest is Cashew Chew but the color is buildable, so it’s not really an issue for me. The two standouts for me are Molasses Chip and Cafe Au Lait; both have a smooth metallic finish and excellent pigmentation. Dark Truffle also has really great color payoff but it’s a darker shade, so it’s not a personal favorite or a color that I see myself reaching for often.

The three colorful shades — although I don’t foresee using them much — were a pleasant surprise. The original Chocolate Bar palette also contained a purplish shade but I remember getting barely any color payoff from it. The purple Black Currant shade in the Bon Bons palette is way more pigmented, the hot pink Totally Fetch actually pops and the Earl Grey teal shade is so dark it’s almost black on the skin. I suppose that’s disappointing if you were hoping for a brighter teal but I was expecting a sheer nothing color so it impressed me.


And here’s a look at how the Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons palette compares to some of the other palette and eye shadows in my stash. As I hope you can see, the Too Faced palette contains a versatile mix of lighter neutral shades in a mix of matte, satin, shimmer and metallic finishes.

Clockwise from top left: Ciate Smouldering Suedes, Make Up For Ever Artist Nudes, bareMinerals The Overachiever, bareMinerals The Hot Spot, Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons, bareMinerals The Regal Wardrobe, Viseart Cool Matte

Clockwise from top left: Viseart Cool Matte, Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons, Wet n Wild Brulee, bareMinerals The Hot Spot, bareMinerals The Overachiever

2 thoughts on “Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons Eye Shadow Collection

  1. Oh!! Your swatches actually the most attractive of all I saw on internet! I recently was choosing between Naked 3 and bonbons and choosed Naked 3. Now I feel like I want Bon Bons as well.. even I think I don’t need more eyeshadows))

Comments are closed.