Sephora & Ulta Haul

I’m still on the hunt for that perfect lighter nude palette. Most palettes run a bit too dark for my liking or aren’t compatible with my extremely dry skin.

The quality of the Viseart Cool Matte palette was excellent but I only ever reached for the palest four shades in it and the Make Up For Ever Artist Volume 1 (Nudes You Need) failed to impress me, so I got rid of them both on my blog sale.

This time around I decided to get the new LORAC Nude Necessities Eye Shadow Palette ($30) which is being panned all over the internet for being “too boring.” I’ve seen some pictures and swatches of it already and, I don’t know, I thought it was really pretty. I had originally planned on getting the Urban Decay Naked2 Basics palette but there was that one dark shade in it that I was iffy about. The Nude Necessities palette, though, I think I’ll actually use all of the colors. I purchased mine from Ulta.

Also, Tarte’s new limited edition Rainforest of the Sea collection just became available on sephora.com the other day to VIB/VIB Rouge members and I decided to take a chance on the Rainforest of the Sea Eyeshadow Palette ($34). I’ve been disappointed time and again by Tarte eye shadow palettes and every time I swear I’ll never buy any of their eye shadows again but they keep coming out with new formulations that I hope will miraculously work for me. The swatches and stock photos for the palette look promising but I’m still wary because this new eye shadow formula is being compared to the Make Up For Ever Artist shadow formula which I don’t like. Crossing my fingers and hoping I have a better experience with this Tarte palette.

The sun had already set when I received my Sephora package today but I had enough light to take a few quick photos. I have to say that the size of the Tarte palette took me by surprise. I was expecting it to be the same size as Tarte’s previous round palettes (i.e. Aqualillies, Rainforest After Dark, Showstopper, etc.) but it’s a lot smaller. The older palettes all have a diameter of 4.5 inches but this new Rainforest of the Sea palette measures 3.75 inches in diameter and fits in the palm of my hand. (Note: BECCA Minerals Blush included for size comparison.)

Side note: Sephora has really upped their shipping game. I ordered the Tarte palette yesterday afternoon and it arrived today. I have Flash shipping but their shipping for previous orders usually took two full days, and that’s not including the processing time. There was hardly any processing time this time around. I got the shipping notice the same day I placed the order. Seriously impressed.

