Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Bronzer/Highlighter Duo

Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Bronzer/Highlighter Duo

This is a product I’ve been lusting over for nearly a year: the Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Bronzer/Highlighter Duo.

Sonia Kashuk cosmetics are exclusive to Target and I remember spotting this duo when it first launched last Spring but I didn’t buy it then because I wanted to wait for a sale. Well, my Target store either hasn’t restocked it since last year or else it constantly sells out because I can never find it in store. Finally, I just gave up and decided to place an online order for it through Target’s website.

Sonia Kashuk’s Chic Luminosity line isn’t new. Her Chic Lumonisty Bronzer/Blush Duos and Chic Luminosity Bronzer singles have existed for several years already but the Bronzer/Highlighter Duo ($12.99) was a new addition to the lineup. Now that I’ve tried this duo, I’m kind of curious about the Bronzer/Blush Duos.

Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Bronzer/Highlighter Duo

Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Bronzer/Highlighter Duo

Ingredients: Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Mica, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Squalane, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Polysorbate 80, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, 1, 2-Hexanediol, PTFE, Dimethicone, Silica, Chondrus Crispus (Carageenan), Xanthan Gum, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-DI-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Tin Oxide MAY CONTAIN: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarines, Manganese Violet, Carmine, Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, Ferric Ferrycyanide, Chromium Oxide Greens, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Red 6, Red 7, Red 7 Lake, Red 28 Lake, Red 30 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 5 lake, Yellow 6 Lake

The Chic Luminosity Bronzer/Highlighter Duo is made in Italy and comes packaged in a lightweight plastic compact with magnetic closure. The powder is embossed with a crocodile pattern that gives the surface of the powder a really cool, textured, 3-D effect that distinguishes it from the majority of drugstore pressed powders.

I have to admit I was surprised the first time I used the Bronzer/Highlighter Duo. It doesn’t feel powdery, buttery or soft like a traditional pressed powder or dry like a baked powder but somewhere in between. Honestly, the first time I swatched it, I immediately thought of the NARS Dual Intensity eye shadows because it has the same sort of high shine finish, excellent color payoff and feel on the skin.

I did a bit of research afterward and I found this statement about the Chic Luminosity powders on Sonia Kashuk’s website: “This hybrid texture combines all the best features of baked, powder, cream and fluid formula to easily blend, protect against dryness and deliver buildable color payoff that lasts up to 12 hours without fading.

So, there you go, it appears to be that hybrid baked powder gelee formula along the lines of MAC Extra Dimension, NARS Dual Intensity and Estee Lauder Powder Gelee products. I think that’s interesting because people went crazy over those products but I hardly ever hear anyone talking about the Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity powders which are less expensive and widely available at Target and target.com.

Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Bronzer/Highlighter Duo

Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Bronzer/Highlighter Duo

The Sonia Kashuk Bronzer/Highlighter Duo features a warm bronzer shade and a gorgeous peachy beige shade. Neither shade is as frosty, strongly metallic or shimmery as the likes of theBalm’s Mary-Lou Manizer or the BECCA Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed powders. The Sonia Kashuk duo blends just as easily but has more of a satin or softer metallic sheen to them.

I can’t really see the darker shade in the duo working as a contour or all over bronzer because of how warm and glowy it is but sheered out, it gives a really pretty, sun-kissed, bronzed glow to the cheeks that isn’t sparkly.

The first time I ever heard of the Bronzer/Highlighter Duo was through Jessin Reyes’ YouTube channel. If you’re interested in Sonia Kashuk products, she buys and reviews almost all of the new Sonia Kashuk products that are launched each season. In her review of the Bronzer/Highlighter Duo last year, she said that she wished the highlighter half of the duo had been released as a single because it’s so good and I have to agree. Highlighters like Mary-Lou Manizer, BECCA Opal and Moonstone, LORAC Spotlight, and Hard Candy Tiki are beautiful but they’re all rather yellow which can look a bit unnatural on my skin. The peachy beige of the highlighter in Sonia Kashuk duo is more of a flesh tone shade that’s not as strongly yellow as the aforementioned highlighters, so it should be more flattering on a variety of skin tones although I think people NC15-25 would love it especially.

Although I prefer to use the duo on the cheeks, they also work well as eye shadows in case you were wondering. If you’re ever strapped for time, it takes no time at all to sweep the colors onto the eyelids with a brush. The powders apply and blend easily. I’ve even tried patting the colors onto my lids with a fingertip which works just as well for a bit more intensity.


Stila All Over Shimmer Duo in Kitten, Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Bronzer/Highlighter Duo

As I was swatching the Sonia Kashuk Bronzer/Highlighter Duo, I also thought of the Stila All Over Shimmer Duo in Kitten which is probably my most favorite mid- to high end highlighting powder. The colors and split pan set up definitely look a lot similar.

I decided to swatch the light (highlighter) halves separately, the dark (bronzer) halves separately, and then the two halves of each compact mixed together. As you can see the highlighter of the Stila duo is more pink while the Sonia Kashuk highlighter is more peachy. The bronzer of the Stila duo is a much lighter pinkish bronzer compared with the darker bronzer in the Sonia Kashuk duo. And mixed all together, the colors in the Stila duo are pinker than the Sonia Kashuk duo which is more bronze overall.

I have to say that although I still love the Stila All Over Shimmer in Kitten for its slightly lighter pink color, I think I may like the Sonia Kashuk duo even more because it’s not as messy. For a traditional pressed powder, the Stila powder is loosely packed and quite powdery which you can probably tell from all of the powder residue gathered around the edges of the compact.

Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Bronzer/Highlighter Duo

My previous favorite drugstore highlighter was the Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips All-in-1 Custom Nude Palette in Warm Nude. I’m not talking about the older Shimmer Strips powders which contained five stripes of colors like the Bobbi Brown Shimmer Bricks but the newer Shimmer Strips in a set up of 3×4 blocks of color. The formula of the Shimmer Strips All-in-1 palettes is soft, silky smooth, highly pigmented with a metallic finish.

I purged the palette I owned because it was a bit too dark for my skin tone but I had planned on buying the lighter Natural Nude shade eventually. I still plan on doing that and I think it’ll be interesting to see how it stacks up against the Sonia Kashuk Bronzer/Highlighter Duo in terms of color and finish only since one is a regular powder and the other is a hybrid formula.

