Tata Harper Volumizing Lip & Cheek Tint – Very Sweet

Tata Harper Volumizing Lip & Cheek Tint – Very Sweet

I’m so mad at myself. I spent a whole weekend snapping swatch photos outdoors. Bronzers, highlighters, blushes, eye shadows. Boom. I did it all. I churned those photos out, cropped and edited them, and they were all sitting on my computer ready to be uploaded as needed.

Writing blog entries doesn’t take very long; it’s the swatching and photo editing that I find the most time consuming, so having that part of the process done speeds up the blogging process considerably. At least it’s supposed to but when I went to write up my Tata Harper Cheek Tint review yesterday I realized I had accidentally deleted my swatch photo. Ugh. I must have done it after I posted my Tata Harper Very Bronzing and Very Illuminating reviews because all of my Tata Harper swatches were in the same folder on my computer and I deleted my swatch photos for those two products immediately after the reviews went up. I spent the better half of this week downloading programs like Recuva to see if I could recover the deleted files but it was too late and the files were overwritten and long gone. Sad.

As the saying goes, a picture is worth a thousand words. That’s why I love I love swatch photos. They’re self-explanatory and make blogging so much easier. Without the aid of photos, I would describe Very Sweet as having a balm-like texture, similar to the Very Bronzing contour and Very Illuminating highlighter except a bit softer and creamier to the touch. However, unlike the Tata Harper contour and highlighter which were virtually fragrance-free (they have an extremely subtle scent caused by the mix of natural plant oils and extracts), Very Sweet has a fruity berry scent. It’s not a strong scent but it’s noticeable and I can smell it when I have it on my cheeks and taste it when it’s on my lips. I don’t care for the fragrance personally.

Tata Harper Volumizing Lip & Cheek Tint – Very Sweet

Tata Harper Volumizing Lip & Cheek Tint – Very Sweet

Tata Harper Volumizing Lip & Cheek Tint – Very Sweet

Clockwise from top: Tata Harper Very Illuminating, Tata Harper Very Sweet, Tata Harper Very Bronzing

Very Sweet, I believe, is the lightest color in Tata Harper’s range of Lip & Cheek Tints and the only one with a bit of shimmer. Sephora.com, where I bought it from, only carries five of the Lip & Cheek Tints and among those Very Sweet was the most appealing to me. Very Sweet is a light peachy pink with a hint of superfine golden microshimmer that I honestly can’t see when it’s on my cheeks, so fear not shimmer-phobes. (Note: In real life, Very Sweet looks nothing like its pasty pale stock photos on Tata Harper’s site.) The finish on the skin is dewy and jelly-like/translucent, similar to a tinted lip balm. To compare, it’s not like the Stila Convertibles that go on more opaque but more like the Lip Smackers Dr. Pepper lip balm in terms of sheerness, translucency and glossy finish. Very Sweet is peachy pink rather than the sheer red of Lip Smackers’ Dr. Pepper. I knew going into this that Very Sweet’s the sheerest out of all the Lip & Cheek Tints but I still bought it because I really liked the color. I’ve heard the other shades are a lot more pigmented, especially the darker ones, so don’t give up on all of the Lip & Cheek Tints just yet.

Although the Lip & Cheek Tints are marketed as dual function products, I personally don’t like to use them on the lips. First of all, I’m not a fan of the flavor/scent which lingers and, secondly, they’re not moisturizing or long-wearing enough for me as a lip product. As a tinted balm, it sinks into the lips far too quickly for my liking, like within 5 minutes, so I always need to top it with another heavier lip balm to keep my lips hydrated and moisturized. And, in case you’re wondering, the microshimmer is so fine and sparse that I can’t see or feel it on my lips. There’s no grittiness or graininess.

I prefer Very Sweet as a blush but it’s definitely on the extremely sheer side, so be prepared to layer this product. I used the e.l.f. Studio Small Stipple Brush to apply Very Sweet and I needed about 3 layers of it before I could see a nice pop of color on my cheeks and my skin is on the light side (NC15-20). I wouldn’t recommend this particular shade to anyone deeper than an NC20 because this product is so sheer and so expensive and you’ll probably go through a jar in no time with all of the layering you’ll need to do just to get the color to show up on your skin. Also, the more you pile on, the heavier and tackier it feels on the skin and if I wanted that I would’ve stuck with the more pigmented Stila Convertibles. No, if you want something similar in color to Very Sweet but in a more pigmented, weightless, user-friendly formula, I would recommend the BECCA Beach Tint in Guava. It’s a stain so it won’t give you the dewy finish of Very Sweet but I think it’ll satisfy your peachy pink craving and stress your wallet less because a Beach Tint’s only $25 rather than $36 for the Tata Harper blush.

Ingredients: Cocos nuciferra (Coconut) Fruit Extract, Helianthus annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil*, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Cera Alba (Beeswax)*, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Helianthus annuus (Sunflower) Seed wax, Natural and Organic flavors, Palmitoyl Isoleucine, Camellia sinensis (Green Tea) seed oil*, Plukenetia (Sacha Inchi) Volubilis Oil*, Euterpe oleracea (Acai) fruit oil*, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Lavandula stoechas (Spanish Lavender) Extract, Tocopherol MAY CONTAIN: Iron Oxides (CI 77499, CI 77491, CI 75409, CI 77891, CI 77492) Carmine, Jojoba Esters, Mica, Trihydroxystearin

