bareMinerals bareSkin Complete Coverage Serum Concealer

I meant to get this posted months ago but the holidays rolled around and then I got a stomach bug and my blog fell to the wayside. I had all of the swatches and photos ready to be uploaded but, you know, life got in the way. So without further ado, here’s my quick review of the (no longer so new) bareMinerals bareSkin Complete Coverage Serum Concealer ($20). I purchased mine directly from bareminerals.com.

The bareSkin concealer is available in 6 shades. The one I have is Light, the second lightest shade in the range.

This is a lightweight, fragrance-free, liquid concealer that comes in a plastic tube with a doe-foot applicator.

First off, the positives. I love how easy it is to apply and blend out this concealer. I love how weightless it feels on the skin. It also has great coverage: medium to full.

I think this would be a fantastic concealer for people with normal to oily skin, maybe even for those with slightly dry skin, but if you have really dry skin like me then you’d be better off using something more moisturizing and emollient. The bareSkin concealer has a satin matte finish and, on me, it looks pretty natural freshly applied but as quickly as 30-60 minutes later, after it’s gotten a chance to sink into the skin, it ends up looking really dry, matte and powdery. It you have fine lines in the under eye area, it will crease and if you have any skin texture issues, it will emphasize them.

Bare eye (left), bareMinerals bareSkin concealer in Light (right)

Bare eye (left), bareMinerals bareSkin concealer in Light (right)

bareMinerals bareSkin concealer in Light (15 minutes after initial application.)

bareMinerals bareSkin concealer in Light (1 hour after application)


Dermablend (Warm Ivory), bareSkin (Light), IT Cosmetics (Neutral Medium)

Dermablend (Warm Ivory), bareSkin (Light), IT Cosmetics (Neutral Medium)

Here’s how the bareSkin concealer look next to some of the other fuller coverage concealers in my stash. It’s peachier/yellower compared to the Dermablend and IT Cosmetics concealers.

Out of all of the concealers I’ve tried, my favorite is still the IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye. Below, I’m wearing the IT Cosmetics concealer on the left side and the bareSkin concealer on the right. Both look relatively natural and skin-like freshly applied here but, unlike the bareSkin, the Bye Bye Under Eye keeps my skin looking hydrated and moisturized throughout the day. An hour later and the side with the bareSkin’s going to look like the powdery mess that I showed above.

IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye concealer in Neutral Medium (left), bareMinerals bareSkin concealer in Light (right)

The Bye Bye concealer is also more brightening and has slightly fuller coverage. I tend to have better results with pinker concealers than peachy/yellow ones like the bareSkin, so your results may vary depending on your skin tone, undertone and the color of your dark circles.

In addition to its moisturizing benefits, I think the thicker and more emollient consistency of the IT Cosmetics concealer also has a smoothing effect on the under eye area. If you compare the left side of the photo with the right side, the bareSkin definitely emphasizes skin texture issues more whereas the side with the Bye Bye concealer looks a lot smoother.

3 thoughts on “bareMinerals bareSkin Complete Coverage Serum Concealer

  1. Ahh, I was /just/ going to get this for my birthday, but as I have fine lines and dry skin, I’ll have to pass. Thanks so much for reviewing! I’ll have to save up for the Bye Bye concealer. =) Glad your stomach bug passed!

    • You’re welcome and thanks! 😀

      I think that except for those with the driest of dry skin, the bareskin concealer is worth a shot. The coverage is impressive and I love how lightweight it is. The IT Cosmetics concealer has a following but some people don’t like it because of how thick and creamy it is. Just something to keep in mind because the formulas are very, very different. If you’ve ever tried the Tarte Maracuja Creaseless concealer, the texture is quite similar to the IT concealer. If you’re unsure about the IT concealer and don’t want to commit to a full size tube, I believe Ulta sells travel/trial size tubes of it for $10.

      If you want something more liquid with high coverage, the Amazing Cosmetics concealer is pretty good. It’s not as moisturizing as the IT concealer and it creases a little bit like the bareskin but it’s less matte and less drying than the bareskin and comes in a ton of shades.

      I want to try the Urban Decay Naked and NARS Radiant Creamy concealers next. After using the bareskin concealer, I’m curious about other liquid, doe-foot, high coverage concealers. I’m hoping that at least one of those two will be less drying.

      • Ahh, thanks so much for the info then. =) I think I will go with the bareminerals concealer since I tested it before and didn’t have much creasing at all, but I couldn’t get the tarte maracuja concealer to work for me. ❤ Thanks!

Comments are closed.