Target Haul

It’s been awhile since I’ve purchased anything from Target but my hair dryer up and died on me recently, so I needed to get a replacement. My old hair dryer was at least 10 years old and I’m not even sure what brand it was because the brand logo rubbed off eons ago.

I decided to go with this particular Remington Ionic Ceramic model which I saw online at target.com because it’s inexpensive ($14.99), the brand itself seems to have a good reputation and I liked the color. It’s extremely basic with three heat settings, two speeds and a cool blast button but honestly that’s even more than I need. I only ever use the highest speed and hottest heat settings on blow dryers anyway, so any extra functions are useless to me. And 90% of the time, I let my hair air dry naturally.

I’ve used the blow dryer 3x already and I might exchange it for a different hair dryer. Rather than buttons that you have to push, if you want a specific speed of heat level you need to slide the switch to the setting you want. The problem I’m having is the slider doesn’t slide smoothly and gets stuck. Maybe it’ll get smoother with use but I think I’ll probably have to trade this hair dryer in for a different model that has buttons or switches that I can click to designated settings.

Since I was placing an online order, I decided to grab a few other beauty items that I’ve never seen in my local brick and mortar store.

It’s wintertime and a blizzard is on the horizon here on the East Coast, so extra lip balms are always a good thing to have on hand. I love lip products that come in squeeze tubes, so when I spotted these two lip balms I knew I had to get them.

The Skinfix Lip Repair Balm ($4.99) claims to be free of flavor, fragrance, color, sugar, gluten, parabens and phthalates. The ingredients are pretty simple: petrolatum, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, beeswax, glycine soja (soybean) oil, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil, and allantoin. Skinfix is a brand that’s totally new to me but I believe it’s Canadian.

I know it’s a fan fave but I’m personally not a fan of Burt’s Bees’ regular lip balm that comes in the twist up tube. First off, it’s too waxy and, second, it’s minty. The Burt’s Bees Ultra Moisturizing Lip Treatment ($4.99), however, claims to be unscented. Strangely, I couldn’t find this particular product on Burt’s Bees’ site and target.com didn’t have the ingredients listed. If they had, I wouldn’t have bought it because lanolin is one of the ingredients and it’s something that usually irritates my lips depending on how much is in the product. The NYC lip balm that I’m currently using and love contains lanolin but probably in such a small amount that I haven’t experienced an adverse reaction. To be on the safe side, I’m going to return it. I haven’t taken the lip balm out of its blister pack yet so I don’t think I’ll have any problems getting a refund.

The Sonia Kashuk Chic Luminosity Bronzer/Highlighter ($12.99) is a product I’ve been eyeing since March when Sonia Kashuk launched their Spring 2015 collection. The majority of the items they released at that time were part of the limited edition Sahara Sunset collection but this bronzer/highlighter duo was a new addition to their permanent collection of Chic Luminosity bronzer/blush duos. Target stores do carry the Bronzer/Highlighter duo but my store never seems to have it in stock and whenever target.com runs a beauty sale online this duo is always one of the first items to sell out. I finally said to heck with it. I was just going to buy it, sale or no sale.

I spotted this particular Carriage by Timex watch ($16.79) and decided to get it. I have thin wrists so boyfriend style watches always look silly on me. The face on this watch is just a tiny bit larger than the usual ladies watch but not completely oversized. The band is just one stretchy bracelet in polished and brushed silver.

I wouldn’t recommend this watch if you have thicker wrists. My mom thought the watch was cute at first but then she tried it on and said it pinched her skin. Apparently when the band stretches and contracts, skin and arm hair can get caught in between the links. The band is just the tiniest bit loose on me and slides a bit up and down my wrist so I haven’t experienced any pinching.

I made a special  trip to my local Target store to get this Black & Decker 12-cup programmable coffee maker. I already have a drip coffee maker but it’s on it’s on its last legs. I also own a Keurig 2.0 K550 but I’ve had some serious issues with it since Day 1, so I rarely use it. It was about time I bought a new coffee maker and Target was offering an amazing deal on a Black & Decker coffee maker.

This coffee maker normally retails for $22.99 which is pretty cheap alerady but it’s currently on sale in-store on online for $19.54. However, right now on the Cartwheel app, there’s a 40% off offer on this exact coffee maker which brings the total down to $12 and change after tax or $11-ish if you use a Target Red Card for an additional 5% off. That’s approximately 50% in savings which is awesome.

