Tata Harper Very Bronzing Contour

Tata Harper Very Bronzing Contour

After being completely bowled over by the Tata Harper Very Illuminating highlighter, I placed a second Sephora order for the Tata Harper Very Bronzing contour/bronzer.

If you’re unfamiliar with Tata Harper, let me just tell you that the cream highlighter is seriously beautiful and if you’re into either (or both) “green” cosmetics or natural/subtle highlighters, you need to try it. I had a longtime love affair with RMS Beauty’s Living Luminizer and it was my favorite understated, dewy, highlighter but the Tata Harper is so much better. It’s my new holy grail. The texture’s more lightweight on the skin and it looks a lot more natural on the skin. The Living Luminizer which is already an extremely subtle highlighter looks shimmery by comparison.

Since the highlighter left such a hugely positive impression on me, of course I had to explore more cosmetic products from the line. I purchased Tata Harper’s Very Bronzing ($40) from Sephora.

Tata Harper Very Bronzing Contour

Tata Harper Very Bronzing Contour

Tata Harper Very Bronzing Contour

Tata Harper Very Bronzing Contour

Tata Harper Very Bronzing Contour

Tata Harper Very Bronzing Contour

Tata Harper Very Bronzing, RMS Buriti

Similar to Tata Harper’s Very Illuminating and RMS Beauty’s Living Luminizer, both of which I’ve reviewed previously, Tata Harper’s Very Bronzing comes in a widemouthed, frosted glass pot with a metal screw top lid. The color scheme for RMS is clear/white whereas Tata Haper is green/gold but both feel alike in the hands: solid, weighty and not cheaply made.

I’m sure if you’re reading this review you’re probably wondering how this new bronzer compares with the RMS Beauty Buriti bronzer which I believe has been around longer and is loved by many in the beauty and green community. I’ve owned the Buriti bronzer for awhile now and use it often as a cheek color/blush more so than an all over bronzer or contour, so I feel I have a pretty good handle on it.

Some quick differences that I was able to detect immediately:

  • The ingredients list for the Tata Harper Very Bronzing contour is a lot longer and more complicated than the RMS Buriti Bronzer, which is something you should be aware of if your skin is ultra sensitive. There are some commonalities between the two products, namely coconut, beeswax, jojoba, mica, titanium dioxide and Vitamin E but the RMS also contains Cocoa Seed Butter, Buriti Oil and Rosemary Extract which aren’t in the Tata Harper. And then you have the Tata Harper which contains a lot more plant oils, flower extracts and additional ingredients. Just something to be aware of if you have any skin allergies.
  • I wouldn’t necessarily classify the Tata Harper Very Bronzing contour as scented but I wouldn’t say it’s completely fragrance-free either. I detect more of a scent from the Tata Harper contour cream compared with RMS’ Buriti bronzer or even the Tata Harper cream highlighter. I can’t specifically name what I smell. It’s not particularly floral or fruity, just more plant-y (if that makes sense) than the other two cream products which I assume is due to the natural scents of the ingredients, of which there are many.
  • Both products have a smooth and creamy texture but the RMS bronzer feels softer and thicker and a touch heavier on the skin. The Tata Harper Very Bronzing contour is a bit firmer, applies more thinly onto the skin, and feels a bit more lightweight as a result.
  • The Tata Harper is more pigmented but blends out easily. RMS Buriti is sheerer but pigmentation can be built up in a jiff.
  • Tata Harper’s Very Bronzing is definitely more of a true bronzer and contour shade. It’s a medium brown color compared with the RMS Buriti bronzer which is noticeably more red. The redness of Buriti is the main reason why I use it as a cheek/blush color and not for all over bronzing or contouring. When I first laid eyes on the Very Bronzing cream I thought it would be way too dark to work as a bronzer but the color actually shows up a lot lighter on the skin than it does in the pot, so it should work well for lighter and darker skin alike.
  • The biggest difference between the two is the Tata Harper Very Bronzing contour is completely shimmer-free whereas the RMS Buriti bronzer has a pearly sheen. This and the fact that it’s browner are the main reasons why I feel Tata Harper’s Very Bronzing cream is the better product if you’re in the market for a cream bronzer or contour.

Summary: if you want a glowy, red-tinged, bronzy, cream blush or cheek color, go with the RMS Buriti bronzer. If you want an all over bronzer or cream contour, go with the Tata Harper Very Bronzing cream.

I don’t do much bronzing or contouring, so Buriti suits my needs better and I think reddish bronzers look more natural on me. However, I prefer the lighter texture and shimmer-free formula of the Very Bronzing cream. Buriti’s still a great product and I love it regardless but if RMS ever came out with a matte version of Buriti I would buy that immediately.

Tata Harper Very Bronzing, RMS Buriti

Tata Harper Very Bronzing, RMS Buriti

