Maybelline Color Sensational The Buffs – Untainted Spice

Maybelline Color Sensational The Buffs – Untainted Spice

Purchasing a lipstick at the drugstore is always a gamble because how it looks in the tube is rarely ever a true representation of how it’ll look on the skin or lips. Sigh, if only drugstores had testers. All I can do is pick a lipstick, try it when I get home and hope I don’t need to purge it or return it if it’s not a good color for me. It’s an inconvenience but at least I can say I’m not one of those rude, inconsiderate, gross people who swatch makeup at the drugstore and then put the used makeup back on the shelf for unsuspecting buyers. Nasty.

Maybelline’s Untainted Spice ($8.29) is a recent buy that ended up not being a flattering color for me but I wanted to swatch it for you all before I purge it on my blog sale.

Maybelline Touch of Spice, Maybelline Untainted Spice

Maybelline Touch of Spice, Maybelline Untainted Spice

The Maybelline Color Sensational lipsticks have been around for awhile now, so I probably don’t need to go into detail about the formula. You’re probably all familiar with them. They’re smooth, creamy, pigmented and overall a fantastic lipstick for under $10 if you can put up with the Play-Doh scent.

Most lipstick colors tend to pull very pink and cool on me, so if I want a natural or MLBB (my lips but better) color then I need to go a lot warmer and browner than I think. For example, Maybelline’s matte lipstick in Touch of Spice is an ultra popular cult favorite that’s described by many as a brownish rose. On me it’s straight up rosy pink, maybe slightly berry-ish and lot brighter on the lips than I expected. If I tap it lightly onto my lips, work it into my lips with a fingertip and top with a bit of clear balm, it gives a pretty “just bitten” stained effect. It’s not what I was looking for in a lipstick color but I like it. However, it didn’t satisfy my craving for a browny MLBB and that’s how I ended up buying Untainted Spice.

In the tube Untainted Spice looks a lot darker and browner than Touch of Spice, so I had high hopes for it. It does swatch browner than Touch of Spice but I feel like any warmth in it is overwhelmed by the cooler plum tones. It’s much more purplish than I wanted and, from past experience, colors like this always end up looking bruise-like on my lips. The color may not be for me but I do like the glossier, creamy finish of this lipstick more than the creamy matte finish of Touch of Spice (which is why I always top it with a clear balm. Plus I have dry lips.).

This won’t stop me from trying more Color Sensational lipsticks but I think next time I’ll go with something that sounds even browner in its name, like Crazy for Coffee or Warm Latte. These two “Spice” lipsticks just aren’t cutting it for me. Not warm enough, not brown enough.

2 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Sensational The Buffs – Untainted Spice

  1. There is a shade Toffee Cream if I’m not mistaken in maybelline hydra extreme line, it’s more brown I guess.

Comments are closed.