Sephora VIB 2015 Haul

The package containing my Sephora VIB goodies arrived via UPS today.

I went a bit palette crazy but, rest assured, I won’t be keeping all three. I’m not about to let my hoarding tendencies take over again. My plan is to swatch everything and keep one palette, and whatever I don’t keep I’m going to list on my blog sale.

This year I purchased the following with my 20% off VIB discount:

The game plan was to pick one palette that I was confident I would like and to take a chance on two palettes I’d been curious about trying. That way, no matter what happened, I would end up with at least one winning product. It would be a shame to waste such an amazing discount on duds, since the 20% sale only happens once a year.

My “sure bet” palette was Bare Minerals’s The Regal Wardrobe Eye & Cheek Palette because I already know I love their pressed READY eye shadow formula. Considering their regular 8-pan eye shadow palettes normally retail for $40 a piece, The Regal Wardrobe at $39 is an amazing value since you get eight shadows in addition to one bronzer, two blushes, and a luminizer.

Lots of vendors offer deals as good or better on brands like Tarte, Too Faced, Urban Decay, etc. at various times throughout the year, so to make the most out of the VIB sale I decided to get two palettes that are exclusive to Sephora.

The first Sephora-exclusive palette I bought is the much raved about Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette. I had actually considered getting it sooner and the only reason I didn’t was because I was worried some of the colors were going to be too dark and warm for my skin tone. I would’ve preferred swatching before buying but I don’t live close enough to a Sephora to go into a store and swatch products, so I wanted to wait until the VIB sale to make a purchase.

Ciate London’s Smokey Suedes Eye Palette from their Olivia Palermo collaboration was the other palette that caught my eye. The purples and earthy tones really spoke to me. I’m not usually a huge fan of purple makeup but I’ve been really into these pinkish mauve gray taupe colors lately which is another reason I was drawn towards The Regal Wardrobe palette.

Expect to see reviews and swatches for the palettes to be posted on my blog in the next few days.

