Stila Convertible Color – Camellia

Last week when Nouveau Cheap posted about a one day flash sale on macys.com, I knew it was my chance to get a Stila Convertible Color that I’d always been curious about trying. I’ve experimented with my fair share of Convertible Colors and while the formula’s not my favorite for cream blushes — it’s a bit too sticky and never quite sets — I do appreciate the variety of shades available, the dewy finish and color payoff that these Stila cream blushes offer.

After I purged all of the Convertible Colors from my makeup collection, I swore I’d never buy another one but when Stila released their Field of Florals Convertible Colors palette earlier this year I almost went back on my word. There was one color in the palette that really caught my eye and seemed like something right up my alley: a warm peachy nude with no shimmer. That shade, of course, was Camellia and when I saw that it was half price on macys.com I knew it was fate telling me to buy it. So I did.


Top row: Stila Camellia, BECCA Bolero
Bottom row: Sonia Kashuk Nirvana, Sonia Kashuk Eden, Almay Nude Light-Medium, Soap & Glory Nudist, Clinique Curviest Caramel

I’m happy to report that Camellia turned out to be everything I was looking for in a nude blush. With the exception of the orangey Gladiola, one of the issues I had with the Convertible Colors I’d owned before, besides the stickiness factor, was they leaned way too pink.

I don’t know what it is about me but a lot of colored makeup (e.g. lipsticks, blushes) that are even the slightest bit pink tend to pull very pink/red on my skin. I think you can see that in my lipstick swatches below. In the tubes, the lipsticks look quite neutral and/or brownish but on my skin they read as much brighter pinks. I’m always trying to achieve that “no makeup” makeup look, so when I’m browsing for MLBB lipsticks or nude blushes I try to search for neutral lipsticks with a lot of brown or yellow-peach to them, never anything that’s outright pink because I know they’ll turn hot pink/fuchsia on me.


Top row: Stila Camellia, BECCA Bolero
Bottom row: Sonia Kashuk Nirvana, Sonia Kashuk Eden, Almay Nude Light-Medium, Soap & Glory Nudist, Clinique Curviest Caramel

Moving back to Stila Camellia, it’s perfect. It’s a beautiful peachy brown color that’s a great everyday neutral blush. It’s not too pink and doesn’t turn fuchsia on my skin. It gives my cheeks a bit of warmth and brightens my complexion. In fact, I’d say it’s the closest I’ve ever come to finding a dupe for BECCA Bolero which I’ve raved about on more than one occasion.

I know the two blushes don’t look very similar in swatches but of course the hand swatches are much heavier applications compared to how you’d actually wear the blushes on your cheeks. I typically apply cream blushes with the e.l.f. Small Stipple Brush and I always apply BECCA Bolero with the IT Cosmetics French Boutique Blush Brush and applied more sheerly and blended out, the blushes look pretty much identical. When I tested out Camellia for the first time on my cheeks, I applied it to the left side of my face and BECCA Bolero on the right side of my face and, with the exception of the finishes (Camellia’s a dewy cream, Bolero is a matte powder) I honestly couldn’t tell a difference. So if you missed out on scoring the limited edition, discontinued Bolero but want something similar in color and don’t mind a bit of stickiness or a cream formula, here’s your chance.

ETA: I wanted to add that I still prefer BECCA Bolero by far. It’s just far more versatile in my opinion. When worn sheer as a light dusting on the cheeks, the warm peachy tones are more dominant and create a similar effect in color to Stila Camellia. Applied more heavily, the rosy bronze tones become more obvious and Bolero becomes a great contouring blush for sculpting the cheekbones similar to Benefit Dallas. Bolero’s also matte which makes it great for everyday use. One bad thing about shimmery blushes like Dallas and dewy blushes like Camellia is they’re awful on those TOTM bad skin days since their shiny finishes catch the light and can draw attention to bumps and blemishes. A matte blush in my experience is best if you’re dealing with skin texture issues. Nevertheless, Stila Camellia is a beautiful blush that I’m glad to own. I absolutely love the peachy nude color.

