BECCA Shimmering Skin Perfector – Moonstone & Opal

RMS Living Luminizer, BECCA Moonstone, BECCA Opal

I finally got around to trying BECCA’s much hyped Shimmering Skin Perfector in Moonstone. I’ve tried the darker Opal shade in the past but wasn’t overly impressed because it was very similar to Pixi’s Flawless Beauty Primer which I already owned at the time.

I’ve moved onto other highlighters since then. My current favorite and only remaining highlighter in my stash after The Great Makeup Purge of 2015 is RMS’ Living Luminizer.

As luck would have it, I received a BECCA Opal sample in a recent Ulta order. It’s been awhile since I’ve used a Shimmering Skin Perfector and tastes change and memories fade/distort over time, so I was interested to see how Moonstone and Opal would compare to the RMS highlighter. I figured it would be a good idea to swatch all three highlighters together.

RMS Living Luminizer, BECCA Moonstone, BECCA Opal

First thing I noticed right off the bat is RMS Living Luminizer is waaaaaay more subtle than the BECCA Shimmering Skin Perfectors. In my swatches I actually had to build the RMS Living Luminizer up for it to be visible to the camera. I used 4-5 swipes for the RMS highlighter compared to 1 swipe each for the BECCA highlighters.

Applied normally in a light single layer, the RMS highlighter provides a completely transparent, clear, balm-like dewiness. Some people say that you can get the exact same effect by using coconut oil but I disagree. The Living Luminizer lasts much longer on the skin than straight up coconut oil and it also has a hint of pearlescence that coconut oil doesn’t possess. Applied really heavily, the Living Luminizer has a whitish glow.

RMS Living Luminizer, BECCA Moonstone, BECCA Opal

Moonstone is a yellow gold color and Opal is a pinky peach. Funny how Opal is a lot pinker than I recall.

Unlike the RMS Living Luminizer which has a solid balm-like consistency, the BECCA Shimmering Skin Perfectors are creamy liquids which means you can either wear them as is or mix them into moisturizer or foundation. Additionally, the shimmer and pigmentation of the BECCA Shimmering Skin Perfectors are much more pronounced. The shimmer is especially noticeable and blingy under direct sunlight which is why I don’t particularly care for BECCA’s liquid highlighters since I’m outside a lot of the day. And don’t get me started on the pressed Shimmering Skin Perfectors which are 100x more shimmery. In comparison to the BECCA highlighters, the RMS Living Luminizer is a lot more natural looking on the skin. I love BECCA’s powder blushes but their highlighters just aren’t my cup of tea.

