BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Soufflé – Guava/Moonstone

BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Souffle – Guava/Moonstone

The BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Souffles were launched a little over a year ago but I only just got around to trying one recently.

They’re available in six colors. I purchased the one in Guava/Moonstone (0.2 oz, $27.00).

BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Souffle – Guava/Moonstone

BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Souffle – Guava/Moonstone

BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Souffle – Guava/Moonstone

BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Souffle – Guava/Moonstone

After using the product a couple of times I have to say the BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Souffles remind me of the discontinued Maybelline Dream Mousse blushes. Anyone that’s followed my blog from the beginning knows that at one point I had a huge collection of those puppies. I really, really loved them back in the day.

Much like the BECCA souffles, the Maybelline blushes had a silicone-y, non-sticky, whipped texture that spread easily onto the skin. Compared with those, the BECCA souffle formula feels wetter, denser and creamier and not as dry, spongy, airy and fluffy.

Unlike the Maybelline Dream Mousse blushes which were fragrance-free, I can detect a bit of a fruity scent with my Guava/Moonstone although it’s not nearly as strongly scented as the liquid/cream Guava Beach Tint that comes in the squeeze tube.

BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Souffle – Guava/Moonstone

Guava/Moonstone is described as coral infused with a pale gold. I wasn’t too crazy about Guava in the regular Beach Tint format. It’s a pretty color but, in general, I prefer peachier colors and Guava was a bit too pink for my tastes. Plus, the tropical fruit scent was too strong for me. However, I find myself really liking the Guava/Moonstone combination because the golden Moonstone part of the souffle helps to warm up the coral pink Guava creating an overall peachier blush color.

Guava/Moonstone is sheer but buildable in pigmentation. I’ve been getting a lot of sun lately and I’m currently at my darkest (~NC20) and I have to use about three layers of blush for it to show on my cheeks,. Even then I would say it’s still on the subtler side, so I would recommend Guava/Moonstone to those with fair to light skin (<NC20). I think it would perform as more of a highlighter on anyone darker unless you’re willing to really pile it on.

BECCA Beach Tint Shimmer Souffle – Guava/Moonstone

Of course you can use your fingers to apply the souffle blush directly onto your cheeks but I prefer to use the e.l.f. Small Stipple Brush. For one, it’s less messy and the brush fits perfectly into the opening of the glass jar. I also feel like the brush picks up and helps distribute the blush onto the skin more evenly and the result looks more natural and not as heavy as it does with finger application.

The only downside is Guava/Moonstone is a bit on the sparkly side. If you click on the hand swatch and then zoom in you should be able to see all the shimmer particles. From a distance, and as long as you’re not in direct sunlight, it’s not too noticeable so it’s not a big deal but I wish the shimmer was a little more refined.

All in all, I like Guava/Moonstone but it really makes me miss those Maybelline Dream Mousse blushes which were way cheaper and more pigmented.

