Clinique Touch Base for Eyes – Canvas

Clinique Touch Base for Eyes – Canvas

Last month I decided to purchase the Clinique Touch Base for Eyes in Canvas ($15), a product that some people swear by as an all-in-one primer and eye shadow that’s great for neutralizing any discoloration on the eyelids.

Clinique Touch Base for Eyes – Canvas

Clinique Touch Base for Eyes – Canvas

Clinique Touch Base for Eyes – Canvas

Clinique Touch Base for Eyes – Canvas

Clinqiue’s Touch Base for Eyes is a cream product that’s housed in a small, plastic compact with a mirror on the interior.

A brand new Touch Base comes with a foil seal that warns users to keep the compact closed in order to prevent the cream from drying out. Prior to making my purchase I had read tons of reviews and a lot of people recommend only peeling back the foil halfway because apparently, even if you shut the compact, air can still get inside and dry up the cream. Keeping the foil on is just a preventative measure to help extend the life of the product.

Clinique Canvas, Bare Minerals Soft Linen

I would describe the Touch Base for Eyes in Canvas as a warm, light nude color with some fine shimmer running throughout.

The texture is thinner and more slippery than I expected but the most disappointing aspect of it is that it lacks coverage. For a product that’s supposed to help create a blank canvas on the lids, it goes on patchy and sheer. And when I tried applying more product to try to get more coverage, all it did was start to look cakey on my lids while still remaining patchy and sheer.

For some perspective, I swatched Clinique’s Touch Base for Eyes in Canvas next to the bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 in Soft Linen just so you could see how much more opaque Soft Linen is.

I’m not sure how the Clinique or bareMinerals cream shadows would perform on oily lids. My skin’s extremely dry but I have a crease that’s very close to my lash line and most shadows — both cream and powder — tend to bunch up under there (see my review for the L’Oreal Infallible shadow). Clinique Canvas creased on me compared to bareMinerals Soft Linen which is pretty bulletproof on me.

If you want a quick, “one and done” eye shadow for neutralizing the eyelids, I highly recommend the bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB cream shadows. They come in a variety of colors but the ones that work best for my skin tone are Soft Linen and Barely Nude.

Clinique Canvas, Bare Minerals Soft Linen

