What’s In My Makeup Bag(s)

I’m always interested in other people’s “What’s In My Bag/Purse” videos and blog posts because I’m nosy like that.

Well, I recently went out of town for about a week so I thought it would only be fair to reciprocate and show what I packed in my toiletries/makeup bags.

Compared to other people, I packed really light and I think a lot of that has to do with all of the purging I’ve been doing this past year. I’ve seen videos of people packing five or six blushes, foundations, lipsticks, etc. for two- or three-day trips. They have so much makeup that they get overwhelmed when it comes to selecting what to bring so they end up bringing everything.

Not having a whole lot of stuff cluttering my stash greatly simplified the entire packing process for me. For instance, I literally have only one concealer and one powder blush in my makeup stash currently so that’s what I brought along with me. The only dilemma I had — and it was a very minor one — was deciding whether to bring a cream blush or powder blush. In the end, the weather decided it for me. I was going to Texas where the temperature was 100+ so I opted for powder blush.

My makeup/toiletries bags are from the Orla Kiely for Target 2014 Sweet Pea collection. The larger hanging organizer originally retailed for $24.99 and the smaller makeup bag originally retailed for $16.99. However, I happened to come across a blog sale where someone was selling the bags in excellent condition and got both for $17 total. Score!

These are all the items I decided to bring with me to Texas:

  • Physicians Formula Argan Wear Ultra-Nourishing Argan Oil
  • Paula’s Choice Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant
  • Simple Moisturizing Facial Wash
  • Contact lens solution
  • A toothbrush
  • IT Cosmetics Heavenly Luxe French Boutique Blush Brush
  • e.l.f. Studio Small Smudge Brush
  • Up & Up Complexion Brush
  • Wet n Wild Brow Pencil in Taupe
  • IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer in Light
  • Contact lens case
  • Pencil sharpener
  • Assorted tampons and panty liners in case of emergencies
  • Physicians Formula Organic wear100% Natural Origin CC Color + Correction Cream SPF 20 in Light
  • Revlon Lip Butter in Sugar Plum
  • NYC Lip Sliders Tinted Lip Balm in Sugar Baby
  • beautyblender PRO
  • jetblue headphones
  • BECCA Mineral Blush in Bolero
  • Stridex Maximum Strength Alcohol-Free 2% Salicylic Acid Pads

As you can see I didn’t bring a lot of makeup with me but they’re all staples that I love and use on almost a daily basis. I honestly didn’t feel like I was missing out on anything. BECCA Bolero is a wonderful, natural looking bronzer/blush that goes with pretty much any outfit and Revlon Sugar Plum is a fantastic MLBB lipstick.

The only product that was new to me was the Simple facial cleanser that I received in a sample box ages ago. It’s a lightly foaming, unscented gel cleanser that’s all right but nothing amazing.

And in case you’re wondering, I was staying with my sister so there wasn’t any need to pack toothpaste, shampoo, soap or lotion/moisturizer.

The jetblue headphones were purchased on a previous trip but I saved them and I’m glad I did. They were $1 or $2 when I purchased them in flight a couple of years ago but I noticed they’d jacked the price up to $5 on my most recent trip. That’s crazy. I can get similar headphones from Dollar Tree for a buck.

