Almay Smart Shade Butter Kiss Lipstick in Nude Light-Medium & Current Lip Stash

L-R: Sonia Kashuk Nirvana, Sonia Kashuk Eden, Soap & Glory Nudist, Almay Nude Light-Medium, Sally Hansen Pumped Up Plum, Sally Hansen Health Nut, Sally Hansen Spirited Spice, Clinique Curviest Caramel, Rimmel Summer Nude

I purchased a majority of the Almay Smart Shade Butter Kiss Lipsticks at the beginning of the year but there’s only been one shade out of the bunch that I consistently reach for and kept: Nude Light-Medium ($7.49). 

Clockwise from top left: L-R: Sonia Kashuk Nirvana, Sonia Kashuk Eden, Soap & Glory Nudist, Almay Nude Light-Medium, Sally Hansen Pumped Up Plum, Sally Hansen Health Nut, Sally Hansen Spirited Spice, Clinique Curviest Caramel, Rimmel Summer Nude

I would describe Nude Light-Medium as a pinkish brown with a glossy finish, no shimmer and a subtle vanilla scent.

If you’ve ever tried the Revlon Lip Butters, the Almay Butter Kiss lipsticks are virtually identical in texture. However, I feel like the Almay version is perhaps the tiniest bit more moisturizing which is why I prefer them.

Bare lips

My lips tend to exaggerate the pink in lipsticks, so, for example, a soft medium pink lipstick will translate as bright Barbie pink on me. That’s the main reason why I gravitate towards softer peaches, corals and browns with a hint of pink because a hint of pink is all I really need.

Although Almay Nude Light-Medium may look a little too brown and drab swatched on the back of my hand, on my lips it’s a brighter, pinker MLBB (my lips but better) color. I love the shine it gives to my otherwise dull looking lips.

Almay Smart Shade Butter Kiss Lipstick in Nude Light-Medium

My lipstick collection has gone through a lot of changes within the past year but I’ve basically gotten rid of all the bright colors, vampy colors, reds, berries, super pink colors, anything with shimmer, anything matte, and everything that had a perfume-y/floral/fruity scent. The survivors are all relatively warm MLBB type colors with moisturizing, balmy textures, glossy finishes and either no scent or a vanilla scent. The only exception is the Rimmel lip gloss which smells like Juicy Fruit gum but that’s because the sheer, shimmery nude color pairs really well with my other lipsticks.

2 thoughts on “Almay Smart Shade Butter Kiss Lipstick in Nude Light-Medium & Current Lip Stash

Comments are closed.